Search Unity

  1. We would like to hear your feedback about Unity and our products. Click here for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

The associated script can not be loaded

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Nathanaji01, Jun 2, 2019.

  1. Nathanaji01

    Nathanaji01

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Posts:
    24
    Hi. I am constantly getting this error. It pops up underneath the script component of the game object. It usually happens after I add a new public variable to the script. This problem is that it does this for all the scripts in the scene. I have tried removing it and adding it but nothing seems to work. Is there any way to fix this?
    upload_2019-6-2_15-17-16.png
     
  2. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    4,769
    Please show error log from the console.
     
  3. Nathanaji01

    Nathanaji01

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Posts:
    24
    This is the only error in the console:
    upload_2019-6-2_20-41-1.png
    I had followed a tutorial on how to make a loading bar in which a "public slider" was used. This is my code:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4. using UnityEngine.SceneManagement;
    5. using UnityEngine.UI;
    6.  
    7. public class MainMenu : MonoBehaviour {
    8.  
    9.     public GameObject LoadingScreen;
    10.     public slider Slider;
    11.  
    12.     public void LoadLevel (int sceneIndex)
    13.     {
    14.         StartCoroutine(LoadAsynchronously(sceneIndex));
    15.     }
    16.  
    17.     IEnumerator LoadAsynchronously (int sceneIndex)
    18.     {
    19.         AsyncOperation operation = SceneManager.LoadSceneAsync(sceneIndex);
    20.         LoadingScreen.SetActive(true);
    21.  
    22.         while (!operation.isDone)
    23.         {
    24.             float progress = Mathf.Clamp01(operation.progress / 0.9f);
    25.             slider.value = progress;
    26.             yield return null;
    27.         }
    28.     }
    29. }
    The public game object works but for some reason, the public slider does not appear in the inspector window:
    upload_2019-6-2_20-46-6.png
    Soon after this, an error comes:
     
  4. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    4,769
    Do you have mknkbehaviour scrip file called slider.cs, or similar? You have missing reference to that file.
     
    Nathanaji01 likes this.
  5. TaleOf4Gamers

    TaleOf4Gamers

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Posts:
    789
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public slider Slider;
    Should be:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. public Slider slider;
    There is no Slider class with a lowercase.
     
    Antypodish, Nathanaji01 and Vryken like this.
  6. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    4,769
    Unless is custom class. But until OP try/confirm can not be sure of OP case.

    But yes I would try capitalize first letter.
     
    Nathanaji01 likes this.
  7. Nathanaji01

    Nathanaji01

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Posts:
    24
    Thanks so much, I capitalized the S in Slider and it works. Thanks a lot.
     
    Antypodish and TaleOf4Gamers like this.
  8. TaleOf4Gamers

    TaleOf4Gamers

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Posts:
    789
    Agreed but judging by its usage, I am 99.9% certain that it refers to Slider in the UI namespace.

    EDIT:

    Glad it works!
     
    Nathanaji01 and Antypodish like this.