Search Unity

Thank you Unity for reminding me why I don't use subscription based services. Good bye!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Andy-Lee, Sep 17, 2022.

1. Andy-Lee

Andy-Lee

Tl;dr Unity just lost a customer.

So, Unity has just reminded me why I don't use subscription based services - because it is possible that you don't need the services anymore despite you're still in the subscription period and still need to pay for them, or, they don't need you anymore and ban your account for whatever reasons and it is always supported by whatever laws they have written on their pages.

Before I tell you my story, here is some brief information you'll need to know:
    • I'm a solo game developer, but I haven't really finished developing any games. In fact, I have not published any product. The only games I have developed were the homework for the institution and university. I'm just lazy and already have a full time job. But I also dream that I will publish at least a game in my life.
    • I have tried quite a few game engines but Unity was the first one that I find it easy to use. I actually quite like it. It all started when Unity 4 was still a thing. I don't like its pricing model but I think I don't need to worry about it yet since I'm still qualified to use the free personal license.
    • I have written a studio name on my Unity ID page. Besides just for fun, it also reminds me that I need a studio name before publishing any game.
    • I have some hobby projects that have never finished but are still going on.
    • I originally lived in Hong Kong but have moved to United Kingdom.
    • A few days ago, I have bought some assets from Humble Bundle.

Some of you may have already guessed what went wrong.

A day ago, it was a normal morning. I was working for my full time job, thinking about what I will do to my hobby project after the job is done.