Search Unity

texturing

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by morgansaysthis, Jun 20, 2007.

1. morgansaysthis

morgansaysthis

what do you guys do for texturing?? i can never seam to get UV maps with blender to work, and texture paint with blender dosent work for larger terrains because the background wont tile(i think)

i really want a nice program with paint on texturing, do you know any??

and how is maya texturing??

or cheetah 3d??

2. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

Blender. :) UV mapping in Blender seems fairly easy and straightforward to me (once you understand the concept), with quite a few convenient functions, but I'm not really sure how easy/hard other 3D apps are by comparison.

--Eric

3. jaydubs

jaydubs

Texturing in Maya is relatively simple ... have I posted replies to you before ?

Paint on texutring is something I have little experience with but you can use PaintFX ( in Maya ) to paint textures onto your objects.

I find theres more control in Photoshop ( or similar ), once my object is UV mapped.
    http://www.harshcg.com/tutorials/skullhead/makingof_skullhead.html

This is a good tute covering texturing in Maya.

Hope this helps,

J.

4. thylaxene

thylaxene

modo has nice texture painting abilities, so does C4D as it comes with BodyPaint3D which is very good. zbrush3 has new 3d polygon painting abilities as well - which with my small amount of time spent using it, looks very promising.

5. morgansaysthis

morgansaysthis

@jay, yeah you replyed to my I MESSED UP BAD post....were i lost my game file...what a bad day that was

@thylaxene

actually i really wanted bodypaint, they didnt have a demo up b4 when i went looking i should go check again

@eric

i cant figure out UV unwrapping, i can never get the seams right, and my model comes out looking like a wadd of polygons

6. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator