Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Text mesh pro dll error

Discussion in 'Linux Editor' started by knobby67, Mar 28, 2017.

  1. knobby67

    knobby67

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Hi All,
    I'm running unity 5.6f1 on Lubuntu 14.04.
    I've installed text mesh pro and got an error about dlls having the same name, which I fixed using the advise found here https://forum.unity3d.com/threads/a...textmeshpro-has-already-been-imported.460786/

    So the demo's work.

    However I've now went to use font asset creator and this gives the below issue. Can anyone advise please?


    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. DllNotFoundException: TMPro_Plugin
    3. TMPro.EditorUtilities.TMPro_FontAssetCreatorWindow.DrawControls ()
    4. TMPro.EditorUtilities.TMPro_FontAssetCreatorWindow.OnGUI ()
    5. System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoMethod.cs:222)
    6.  
    Should add I deleted the 32 bit plug ins but this didn't help
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2017
    bgrah likes this.
  2. Tak

    Tak

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Posts:
    938
    Is this a native plugin? Is there a linux/x86-64 version of the plugin, and is it set to load in the editor in the plugin importer settings?
     
  3. knobby67

    knobby67

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Hi,
    I downloaded default straight from your asset store, think it's part of unity now?
    There are two folders 32bit and 64bit. The dll and other files in the 64bit folder "TMPro_Plugin" were set to "OS" "Any OS", I changed these to "Linux" and still get the same result
    [code ]
    DllNotFoundException: TMPro_Plugin
    TMPro.EditorUtilities.TMPro_FontAssetCreatorWindow.DrawControls ()
    TMPro.EditorUtilities.TMPro_FontAssetCreatorWindow.OnGUI ()
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoMethod.cs:222)
    [/code]
     
  4. FionaSarah

    FionaSarah

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    I'm having the same issue, same error.
    Arch Linux, Unity 5.5.2.

    I've done a bunch of googling and the fix on Windows has been to reinstall Visual C++ redistributes. Which I don't think really helps. Otherwise I'm stumped. :/
     
  5. FionaSarah

    FionaSarah

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    This is still occurring with the newest version of TextMeshPro as released yesterday.
     
    bgrah likes this.
  6. neon_teebar

    neon_teebar

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Posts:
    46
    I'm having this exact problem on Ubuntu 16.04 with Unity 5.6 and 2017.2. I've tried fresh installs of everything.

    Maybe someone could write a http://kvazars.com/littera/ to TextMesh Pro converter, then we won't need the built in font creation system. I'd do it if I had the TextMesh Pro source, so I know what needs to be done.
     
  7. Tak

    Tak

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Posts:
    938
    It looks like TextMesh Pro isn't supported on linux yet - we'll look into it.
     
    Odd-Redesign likes this.
  8. knobby67

    knobby67

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    I spoke to the guy who develops it, now for unity I think and he said there were no plans to get it working with Linux.

    A quick 2 things if you update unity text mesh pro will either break or not work properly you have to.
    1 delete text mesh pro director in your project
    2. reinstall textmesh pro.

    You can't just reinstall it doesnt write over everything for some reason
     
  9. janvetulani3r

    janvetulani3r

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    8
    A different issue I've seen with a scene on Linux, with Unity 2007.2 is that whenever I try and apply a prefab with textmesh pro in it, Unity crashes and exits.
     
  10. Odd-Redesign

    Odd-Redesign

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Posts:
    133
    I still get this error with Unity 2017.3.0f1 - what is the current state on TMP for the Linux editor? Is something worked on or should I keep my expectations low for now?
     
  11. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    24,931
    It would be nice if source was available. Source is available for those who purchased it - I am one of them. Perhaps the textmeshpro author (Stephan) could actually poll paid users, and ask us if we mind the source being distributed. It would help the Linux case and perhaps reduce stress on the author having to maintain two things. Just a thought @Stephan-B

    (For the record I am happy whatever Stephan chooses)
     
  12. Deukhoofd

    Deukhoofd

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Are there any updates on this?
     
  13. Aykutkaraca

    Aykutkaraca

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    Yes I would like to know if it is now supported on linux yet.
     
  14. knobby67

    knobby67

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Not in 2018.1. You have to convert font in windows then everything runs. It's a pain
     
  15. turbanov

    turbanov

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Posts:
    49
    No Linux still? What a shame = (
     
    correia55 likes this.
  16. jumpingcloud

    jumpingcloud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    This would be nice working in Linux.
     
  17. tiskolin

    tiskolin

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    Posts:
    228
    @Tak Still having this problem with 2018.3. TMPro is such a key feature of Unity; I'm surprised it still isn't supported. Is there any timeline for support being given?
     
  18. Advis91

    Advis91

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
  19. Unity3R

    Unity3R

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    The source paid version is no longer available.
    Apparently the source is bundled with the latest releases with Unity - in the package manager you can also change to the latest Text Mesh Pro version.

    I'm going to check today if using the latest release on latest Unity makes a difference.
     
  20. turbanov

    turbanov

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Posts:
    49
    We need this be fixed, please.
     
  21. Advis91

    Advis91

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    The package available from unity works fine for me. I'm not an advanced user of it though so I don't know if some feature doesn't work. Tried all values I found shown in TextMeshPro and TextMeshProUGUI classes.
     
  22. knobby67

    knobby67

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Have you used the convert fonts sprites funtion? That was what was giving most the dll issue
     
  23. Advis91

    Advis91

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    Text in TextMeshProUGUI "Temporary <font="LiberationSans SDF">text</font> before start. <sprite=0>" transformed to. Is this what you mean?
    It doesn't seem to work at all in TextMeshPro 3D version though, which works in windows.
    Edit: it started to suddenly work there aswell.
    I added the component manually, which worked and then tried to create 3D version of TextMeshPro and it started to work there aswell.


    Did the test based on video but I didn't have any other fonts, so I tried it with the only one.

     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
  24. PixelJ

    PixelJ

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Posts:
    57
    Is this in Issue Tracker? If it's not, could someone submit a bug report?
     
  25. Advis91

    Advis91

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    I cant reproduce it, maybe the package finally unraveled it's potential.
     
    PixelJ likes this.
  26. tiskolin

    tiskolin

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    Posts:
    228
    Really...? I'm still having the DLL issue. What version of Unity are you using?
     
    turbanov likes this.
  27. Advis91

    Advis91

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    @tiskolin I use 2018.3.3f1 and used the TextMeshPro package that comes with editor to get the source files, dont have a dll version. It pop ups a notification to install essential stuff when I add TextMeshPro object to scene.
     
    tiskolin likes this.
  28. tiskolin

    tiskolin

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    Posts:
    228
    I'm no different. :oops:
     
  29. knobby67

    knobby67

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Well installed 20118.3.6 and still get
    DllNotFoundException: TMPro_Plugin
    TMPro.EditorUtilities.TMPro_FontAssetCreatorWindow.DrawControls () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.textmeshpro@1.3.0/Scripts/Editor/TMPro_FontAssetCreatorWindow.cs:619)
    on font creation :s
     
  30. knobby67

    knobby67

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Problem is it's linking to a C++ library fille same as it always has
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. errorCode = TMPro_FontPlugin.Initialize_FontEngine();
    3. errorCode = TMPro_FontPlugin.Initialize_FontEngine();
    which I can see is is c++ by his comments
    Code (CSharp):
    1.             // Debug Link to received message from Native Code
    2.             //TMPro_FontPlugin.LinkDebugLog(); // Link with C++ Plugin to get Debug output
    I've tried to contact him about this years ago and he's not interested in fixing.

    Unity can't you get this sorted? @PixelJ
     
  31. knobby67

    knobby67

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    OK got answers from author and some experimentation.

    1. make sure you are running at least 2018.3 ( 2 should work work )
    2. for old projects go into project player, script runtime version and make sure it's on .net 4
    3. delete your text mesh pro folder from assets
    4. go into packages and install tmp 1.4 ( you may have to install 1.3? first )
    5 from window -> text mesh .... -> run the import options then run the remapper option.

    Now all the font sprite tools should work
     
  32. PixelJ

    PixelJ

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Posts:
    57
    Can you open a bug on this please?
     
  33. knobby67

    knobby67

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Posts:
    326
    Hi It's OK sorted.
    The answer above
     
    PixelJ likes this.
  34. senkal_

    senkal_

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Posts:
    30
    Can confirm that it's probably TMP 1.4.
    With newest Unity 2018.2.x I don't have the option to install TMP 1.4, max 1.3.
    Error exists.

    With current newest Unity 2018.3.x have ability to install tmp 1.4 and no errors.
    Not sure if there should be bug created or it should be somewhere noted that basically 2018.2.x tpm font creator tool is not supported.

    @PixelJ is there a point to create a bug just for 2018.2 if with 2018.3 and tpm 1.4 it is fixed?
     
  35. PixelJ

    PixelJ

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Posts:
    57
    No, I don't think so. You're right.
     
    senkal_ likes this.