Search Unity

Resolved Text generated by while loop makes little freeze

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by Virial, Jul 13, 2021.

1. Virial

Virial

Hello,

I am a total novice in any kind of programming, though I'm trying to learn and make a visual novel game. I was struggling to somehow make line consisting of dots to separate text in a box that keeps history so far. When i was finally able to do it using "do while" loop, for some reason game freezes a bit when generating it. Not really sure why it is happening as i doubt that making approximetly 50 dots as a line is so resource consuming, though i could be wrong as i am totally green in this stuff. Using text mesh pro of course.

Could anyone give me some suggestions as to how to check if it is a direct reason or indirect or how could I find a way to solve it? Worst case i will give up on this feature though I would regret spending couple days trying to figure it out and most of all I really do like this effect.

2. JuliaP_Unity

JuliaP_Unity

Unity Technologies

Hello! If you want to keep adding dots while the UI updates at the same time you'll probably want to use a Coroutine to update the text value. If you're doing all the work in one shot without a Coroutine, that means your game's UI won't update while the "do while" loop runs and this may look choppy if your loop is long enough.

This tutorial is a bit old but it should all still work the same: https://learn.unity.com/tutorial/coroutines

3. Stephan_B

Stephan_B

I would also suggest that you post the code that your using to update the text as this would enable us to understand how you are trying to implement this thus making it easier to provide feedback and suggestions to you.

4. Virial

Virial