Search Unity

Resolved Test Runner not running on PlayMode

Discussion in 'Testing & Automation' started by fwalkerCirca, Aug 1, 2018.

1. fwalkerCirca

fwalkerCirca

I am new to test runner and Unit Testing. I am trying to run some test on our application.
    I opened up Test Runner and created a default Test case on Play Mode. No modifications from me. I try run all in the test runner window, it starts the application, but the tests do not seem to be executed. I don't get a fail or a green check mark. If I try right clicking on the test case and select Run I get:
    "InvalidOperationException: This cannot be used during play mode, please use SceneManager.CreateNewScene() instead."

I tried the exact same default test case, no modifications on the Editor Mode and the tests run fine and I get a nice little check mark.

Any thought or idea on what might be going on?

I need to run the test in Play Mode.

Thanks

2. ElvisAlistar

ElvisAlistar

Unity Technologies

@fwalkerCirca Did you manage to figure out how to create and run tests using the Unity Test Runner? If you're still struggling with anything, please let us know. We are getting more involved with our community regarding Testing and Automation.

3. AlexKhundar

AlexKhundar

@ElvisAlistar
    Again a few months between last message but I got the same issue : in Play Mode, test does not seem to execute and stay at the default grey circle. There's neither the fail or green check mark.
    Trying to reproduce on brand new project, I've noticed something, though. There's a difference, both project using 2019.2.2f1.

On the two projects, I did the same thing :
    - Project is free from any Assembly, at least on the Assets folder or children of Assets.
    - I'm located on Assets folder.
    - I opened the Test Runner window.

So, on a brand new project, Test Runner window looks like this :
    NewProject.PNG