Search Unity

Test ads work fine in the Unity editor, but no ads show when testing on iPhone. Normal?

Discussion in 'Unity Ads & User Acquisition' started by ItsaMatt, Jun 11, 2018.

  1. ItsaMatt

    ItsaMatt

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Hello! I'm not sure if this is an issue, but I'm setting up Unity Ad Services for a game I'm working on (from the services tab, not the asset store addon). When I test the game in the editor, I see the placeholder ads just fine (the screen that says "everything seems to be working"). When I build and deploy to my iPhone with Xcode, I don't see any ads. I don't get error messages (or anything in the build/debug log) either. Is this normal? I've tried with and without Test Mode enabled. It would be nice to be able to test ads on actual hardware before sending it off to the App Store. Any help would be appreciated!


    Just to clarify, here's the code I have for showing an ad:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. public void ShowAd() {
    2.         if (Advertisement.IsReady("video"))
    3.             Advertisement.Show("video");
    4.  
    5.     }
    This works fine in the editor, but when I deploy it to my phone, nothing happens. No errors or anything, though Advertisement.IsReady() is always returning false. Am I missing something?

    EDIT: using version 2018.1.0f2
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2018
  2. rasmus-unity

    rasmus-unity

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,312
    Which version of Unity?

    /Rasmus
     
  3. bart_the_13th

    bart_the_13th

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Posts:
    498
    Maybe it's just still loading the video from the server.. Even using test mode, the video ads on device is an actual video, not like the editor version which is just an image...
     
  4. rasmus-unity

    rasmus-unity

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,312
    Which version of Unity are you using? :) We can try to reproduce here then

    /Rasmus
     
  5. ItsaMatt

    ItsaMatt

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    I'm using version 2018.1.0f2!
     
  6. ItsaMatt

    ItsaMatt

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Nevermind, it works now! Updated my package manager and now I'm seeing ads on my phone. Didn't see the sticky thread before.
     
    rasmus-unity likes this.
  7. Paratrooper82

    Paratrooper82

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Posts:
    13
    Did that completely fix the problem for you? I am having the same issue. Unity ad window will show within the editor when called during my respawn function, but when I put the game on my phone, it won't play any ads... :( I've been trying to figure this out for days.
     
  8. Mastermindbrothers

    Mastermindbrothers

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    i cant see test ads in my editor after the debug that says initialize true nothing else when i click my button nothing shows console empty
     
  9. gabrielesimula

    gabrielesimula

    Joined:
    May 21, 2020
    Posts:
    12
    nobody? I'm having the same issue 2 years later
     
  10. Sam2588

    Sam2588

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hello , how did u update the package manager ?
     
  11. rasmus-unity

    rasmus-unity

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,312
  12. HungryCatGames

    HungryCatGames

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2020
    Posts:
    40
    To jump into this topic, I'm running into the same issue. In the editor and on the Android device, during testing it shows the grey box "This would be your banner". When I Build and Run deploying it to the device I never get anything. No ads, no place holder, etc. I've been through the Unity Developer steps at https://docs.unity.com/ads/UnityAdsHome.html repeatedly and everything seems to match up. I've got the game ID filled in. In the Test mode section for Google Play Store I have "Using test ads for all devices". Yet, still nothing.

    I'm very close to a release version and am planning on ad only revenue so I need to a) get this working and b) know that it's going to be reliable before I can offer it. Currently running 4.3.0 and have tried it with "Enable Test Mode" in the project settings both on and off with no difference.
     
  13. megatron0

    megatron0

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Posts:
    27
    I have the same issue but I am using rewarded Ads.
     
  14. cconoly

    cconoly

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    I have the same problem. Double checked IDs, in test mode, in override test mode on dashboard, initializes fine, but get no fill error on devices. In unity everything works, but just on the devices get no fill.
    editor v 2021.3.4.f1
    ads package 4.3.0
     
  15. MassiveHeadGames

    MassiveHeadGames

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2021
    Posts:
    24
    Posting this here since it is a related issue. Full disclosure, my issue is still on-going, so no definitive help here, but maybe clues in my efforts that can help others later. I suspect this some kind of infrastructure issue that Unity Engineers are wrangling with. However, it escapes me why only certain accounts seem to be affected and not everyone.

    Bug - " missing permission" or "NO_FILL" in Android test build - Unity Forum
     
  16. Natey

    Natey

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Posts:
    26
    Hi Unity team, just wanted to jump in and say that test ads were working perfectly for me yesterday in iOS and Android builds, but this morning, something happened and now im getting NO_FILL errors when trying to load rewarded test ads on ios. Remarkably, only test ads are getting the NO_FILL error. If I turn off test mode, rewarded ads show correctly on both devices.
     
  17. de_CLAS_Softworks

    de_CLAS_Softworks

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Posts:
    33
    Having the same issue. Ads show fine in the Editor (both iOS and Android platforms) and with the Android build, however building out to iOS will result in the 'no fill' error on the rewarded test ad.

    Unity 2022.1.14f1
    Advertisement 4.1.0
    iOS 14 Advertising Support 1.0.0

    I've emailed Unity with a support ticket.
     
  18. de_CLAS_Softworks

    de_CLAS_Softworks

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Posts:
    33
    I received an email back from Unity, apparently there is an issue if you initially set your ads to use Unity mediation and then switch it back to normal Unity ads. They are aware of the issue and are currently working on a fix, however currently there is no eta on the fix.