Search Unity

Terrible rendering performances on OnePlus 3T

Discussion in 'Android' started by Menion-Leah, May 15, 2019.

  1. Menion-Leah

    Menion-Leah

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Posts:
    189
    Our 2D mobile game is performing great on a wide range of devices, keeping a steady 30fps frame rate.
    Unfortunately, on OnePlus 3T this doesn't happen: no matter what's on the screen, it keeps having very high frame times, often over 100ms.

    There are approximately 60 draw calls, handled without a single hiccup by older devices (such as OnePlus One, for instance). OnePlus 3T used to perform good, and I suppose those issues shown up when we upgraded from Unity 2018.2.x to 2018.3.x.

    I tried several different build configurations, such as:
    - use OpenGLES3, OpenGLES2 or Vulkan
    - disabling Multithreaded Rendering
    - disabling Static and/or Dynamic Batching
    - disabling GPU skinning
    - enabling Graphics Jobs, Lightmap Streaming, Protect Graphics Memory, Frame Timing Stats
    - using IL2CPP or Mono
    - targeting ARMv7 or ARM64
    - enabling Sustained Performance Mode
    - disabling Prebake Collision Meshes, Keep Loaded Shaders Alive or internal profiler
    - changing all vertex compression settings
    - disabling Optimize Mesh Data

    None of those improved its performances.

    I'm using the lowest graphical settings available, forward rendering path with no shadows, HDR, antialiasing, lightmaps, fog, reflection probes nor soft particles.

    This is a glimpse of the profiler:

    OnePlus3T performance issues.PNG

    Has anybody experienced anything similar, or has some clue on how to solve it?
    Thanks
     
  2. belkovandrew

    belkovandrew

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Posts:
    22
    The same problem for me... extremely bad performance on that device
     
    Menion-Leah likes this.
  3. aleksandrk

    aleksandrk

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    3,022
    Hi!
    Which exact Unity version are you on?
     
  4. Menion-Leah

    Menion-Leah

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Posts:
    189
    @aleksandrk I'm now on 2018.4.0f1, but it surely had same issues also on 2018.3.7f1, 2018.3.8f1, 2018.3.11f1 and 2018.3.12f1.
     
  5. aleksandrk

    aleksandrk

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    3,022
    This looks worth reporting a bug :)
    Please do so.
     
  6. Menion-Leah

    Menion-Leah

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Posts:
    189
    @aleksandrk I'd like to, but I'm quite sure I won't be able to narrow down the issue into a repro.
    Do you think it will be worth submitting a bug report even without it (IE posting profiler screens only)?
     
  7. aleksandrk

    aleksandrk

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    3,022
    Profiler screenshots + your project :)
    Yes, definitely worth submitting, as we'll take a look and figure out if it's something with the device you have or if we can do something to make it better.
    Btw, is your device on the latest Android version available for it?
     
  8. Menion-Leah

    Menion-Leah

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Posts:
    189
    I'm sorry, I cannot submit this project. :(

    My OnePlus 3T device is currently running OxygenOS 5.0.8, Android 8.0.0, sec patch 2018-11-01, kernel 3.18.66-perf+ (2018-12-06), build ONEPLUS A3003_28_181206, and it should be the latest stock available to date.
     
  9. aleksandrk

    aleksandrk

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    3,022
    May I ask why?
    You can answer in DM if you want.
     
  10. Menion-Leah

    Menion-Leah

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Posts:
    189
    aleksandrk likes this.
  11. Menion-Leah

    Menion-Leah

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Posts:
    189
    @aleksandrk, I think I found the main culprit for this behavior.

    I have 2 Screen-Space Canvases that reference a moving camera: if I switch their rendering mode to Overlay, performances improve dramatically on OnePlus 3T.

    On the other phones I tested, there's no performance cost in using Screen-Space mode compared to Overlay.

    The strange thing is that profiler never reported any significant time consumption in the UI section.
     
    roshan090 likes this.