Search Unity

Terrain Tools Brush Rotation/Strength not working

Discussion in 'World Building' started by Supratec, Jan 10, 2021.

1. Supratec

Supratec

Hey im new to Unity, im playing around with Unity for a few days now. One thing i mentioned as i tried to build my first Terrain is that i cant rotate and change the strength of a Brush with the Shortcuts A and D. For whatever reason S for the Size works as it should.
    I imported Terrain Tools 3.0.2 and the Asset Samples

Is there something i miss? i checked the Shortcuts and they are set to A S D as it should.

2. v2-Ton-Studios

v2-Ton-Studios

Trying out the Terrain tools as well... all I have is Opacity and Strength. What do I need to do to enable the "stroke" controls for rotate, noise, etc that I see in all the tutorials?

FWIW, I get a note in the UI saying my brushes are "read only" is there a setting I need to toggle?

Fabricio945 likes this.
  3. v2-Ton-Studios

v2-Ton-Studios

Fixed...

So if you install the Package Manager > Terrain Tools then you get the rotate, noise, etc Stroke options. Make sure you have preview package on, otherwise you won't see it.

However, if you download the terrain assets from the Unity store then you get the more limited brushes without Stroke.

4. v2-Ton-Studios

v2-Ton-Studios

Do you have ProGrid, ProBuilder or PolyBrush installed... they have the same shortcuts as terrain tools and cause conflicts. Just realised as I play around here.

5. wyattt_

wyattt_

Unity Technologies

This is correct. The asset pack from the Asset Store only contains sample content like Terrain Layers as well as some neat brush masks with which you can use to paint your Terrain. It doesn't add any additional painting logic and functionality. For that you need to download the Terrain Tools Package.

6. wyattt_

wyattt_

Unity Technologies