Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Terrain Tools Brush Rotation/Strength not working

Discussion in 'World Building' started by Supratec, Jan 10, 2021.

  1. Supratec

    Supratec

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Hey im new to Unity, im playing around with Unity for a few days now. One thing i mentioned as i tried to build my first Terrain is that i cant rotate and change the strength of a Brush with the Shortcuts A and D. For whatever reason S for the Size works as it should.
    I imported Terrain Tools 3.0.2 and the Asset Samples

    Is there something i miss? i checked the Shortcuts and they are set to A S D as it should.
     
  2. v2-Ton-Studios

    v2-Ton-Studios

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    236
    Trying out the Terrain tools as well... all I have is Opacity and Strength. What do I need to do to enable the "stroke" controls for rotate, noise, etc that I see in all the tutorials?

    FWIW, I get a note in the UI saying my brushes are "read only" is there a setting I need to toggle?
     
  3. v2-Ton-Studios

    v2-Ton-Studios

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    236
    Fixed...

    So if you install the Package Manager > Terrain Tools then you get the rotate, noise, etc Stroke options. Make sure you have preview package on, otherwise you won't see it.

    However, if you download the terrain assets from the Unity store then you get the more limited brushes without Stroke.
     
  4. v2-Ton-Studios

    v2-Ton-Studios

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    236
    Do you have ProGrid, ProBuilder or PolyBrush installed... they have the same shortcuts as terrain tools and cause conflicts. Just realised as I play around here.
     
  5. wyattt_

    wyattt_

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    411
    This is correct. The asset pack from the Asset Store only contains sample content like Terrain Layers as well as some neat brush masks with which you can use to paint your Terrain. It doesn't add any additional painting logic and functionality. For that you need to download the Terrain Tools Package.
     
  6. wyattt_

    wyattt_

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    411
    This means that the brush masks are built-in and shipped with the Editor and cannot be deleted/modified. This is unrelated to the rotation, size, and strength settings
     
  7. marios_chr

    marios_chr

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Maybe this will help someone, I had the same problem Size shortcut was working, but Rotation and Strength wasn't. I was getting NullReferenceExceptions in BrushSizeVariator.cs

    The problem was that I accidentally had an extra terrain that didn't have assigned terrain data
     
  8. Sandreus11

    Sandreus11

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    in the latest version 2021 there is no option for enable preview packages instead there is something like pre release packages which if enabled doesn't show terrains tools packages so what should i do?? please answer
     
  9. wyattt_

    wyattt_

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    411
    Hiya. Which version of 2021 are you on?
     
  10. Barretticus

    Barretticus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    For any new users, like myself, struggling with this and looking for a solution with Unity 2022.3+, it took me 2 weeks to figure this out just now. I'm SO HAPPY!

    you have to parse some language by some more experienced users, but it breaks down like this:

    Package Manager -> Next to the Plus(+) sign, click the "Packages: " dropdown menu -> Unity Registry -> Terrain Tools -> and click INSTALL!!! It turns, out the actual Terrain Tools are an extra package to install, instead of being automatically installed like all those tutorial videos showed in pre-2021 versions of unity.

    That is what will actually solve the issue, and as a side note, below is some good house keeping but is also what I had to do to figure this out:

    Menu/Window -> Package Manager -> Settings (Cog icon on the right of the window) -> Advanced Project Settings

    Tick the box for "Enable Pre-Release Packages"

    Next to the Plus(+) sign, click the "Packages:" dropdown menu -> Unity Registry

    Update all the packages that need Updates. This will also solve a lot of compiler errors and problems like that.

    Then do the same with the "In Project" packages.
    Do the same with any "My Assets" Packages

    Then Save and Quit. Reload your project.

    Good Luck!
     
  11. daniel_slusarz

    daniel_slusarz

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    You are amazing! THX