Search Unity

Terrain Terrain Tools 2019.2 Package update now available through Package Manager

Discussion in 'World Building' started by wyatttt, Aug 10, 2019.

  1. wyatttt

    wyatttt

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    250
    Hey, everyone! As the title of the post suggests, there is a new version of our Terrain Tools package out now. The version number is 2.0.0 and works with 2019.2 ( there may be some weird UI stuff in 2019.3 ).

    For this update, we focused on giving you better tooling for painting materials which ultimately led to more functionality to all the tools in the form of Brush Filters.

    Brush Mask Filters are basically functions you can add to our tools via the tool's UI that modify the brush mask texture used for painting. Atm, it starts with a white texture and the end result is multiplied by the selected mask texture but we are considering passing in the selected brush mask instead of the white texture at the start of the stack.

    Here's the changelog:
    • Brush Mask Filter Stack and Filters and added Brush Mask Filter Stack to each tool
    • Wind Erosion bug fixes. Looks great!
    • Noise Editor Window and new noise type "Strata"
    • TerrainToolbox Material Updates
    • Can import Splatmaps with the Terrain Toolbox
    • Bug fixing for Terrain Toolbox Gizmo
    • Terrain visualization utilities in Terrain Toolbox
    • Improved Paint Texture tool. Now uses brush controllers for size, rotation, etc.
    • Reorderable Layer List/Palette Assets
    • Eyedropper feature for Paint Texture Tool that selects the most prominent Terrain Layer in a given area
    • Fixed Mesh Stamp Tool
    • Moved Mesh to RenderTexture to public API for folks to use in their tools
    • Ability to generate noise based on input Texture. Noise Filter uses this to pipe the heightmap into the noise generation for another way of doing strata
    • Options to "Reset" brush settings to defaults added to Tool foldout headers
    • Removed AssetDatabase.Refresh from static constructor of NoiseLib
    • LOTS of bug fixing
    We also probably introduced some bugs so if you find any or have any questions, let us know!
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2019
  2. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    832
    Awesome, thank you very much :) There are a lot of nice features included.

    Here are a few comments:

    * Paint Texture: rename Add Layer, Remove Layer, Remove Selected Layers to Add, Remove, Remove Selected. It's all in the layers palette anyway. I'm using 2-3 layout and the buttons are cut-off.

    * Move the brushes down in the filter selection. eg when you select Noise, you have to scroll down in order to see and configure the noise. I guess most will stick to a default brush for painting anyway

    * When you switch to another filter, the brush scale setting is reset

    * The noise preview turns red sometimes. What's the meaning of this?
     
  3. Danua

    Danua

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Posts:
    187
    Hi there did you fix smooth brush ?
     
  4. Vagabond_

    Vagabond_

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Posts:
    876
    Yeah, it sounds great only if we did not get these errors upon pressing the build button ! Tested on a working project and just now on an empty one using latest 2019.2

    Did you guys tested this before release !?

    EDIT : or may be i am missing something !? I don't know it just wont build a project that got build just before update to 2.0.0 !

    upload_2019-8-12_18-12-49.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2019
  5. Danua

    Danua

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Posts:
    187
    mmm it's look like somebody forget if unityeditor region )
     
    LoganPark, Sonorpearl and wyatttt like this.
  6. wyatttt

    wyatttt

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    250
    Looks like some Editor code got put into a runtime namespace / folder. I'll put in an issue report

    Not yet. The issue is a little more complicated than we initially thought so we havent been able to invest the time to fix it yet
     
    Sonorpearl likes this.
  7. wyatttt

    wyatttt

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    250
    Can you share a screenshot? The UI here is kinda weird. Clicking the minus on the Reorderable List wont remove all the selected layers. Just the active selection


    You mean the brush filters UI should move down?

    Can you share a gif for this

    The red shows where the noise value is greater than 1 in case you want to debug it or try to get normalized noise values. The preview will turn cyan in areas where noise values are negative but you shouldn't see that with the default noise types since those are remapped from -1 and 1 to 0 and 1 range
     
  8. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    832
    Apologies, my mistake. I resized the project panel because that's actually the one that doesn't make any sense by default. If you want to navigate down the tree, it's just too small while the inspector with the sliders is too big.

    Here's how it looks by default:

    1.png

    And here's when I resize it:

    2.png

    Either way, was my mistake.

    Yes, see above screenshots. I'm in paint texture mode. But the thing I want to use and change often is the textures, not the brushes. Same for the filters.

    But that's all UI stuff :)
     
    Vagabond_ likes this.
  9. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    832
    Ah! I just noticed it's not actually "reset", it's just set to the value that was last used with a filter. Each filter remembers the brush size. That's rather confusing imo, I'd personally prefer to have the same brush size all the time and adjust it when i need it. But I guess every decision as their advantage and disadvantage.
     
    Vagabond_ likes this.
  10. Vagabond_

    Vagabond_

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Posts:
    876
    May an option can be added because i find that confusing as well !
     
  11. wyatttt

    wyatttt

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    250
    Ya we could add that as an option in the future. It's a little easier to manage since you can hold A, S, and D to change the brush strength, scale, and rotation, respectively
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  12. Danua

    Danua

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Posts:
    187
    Please add tools to creating road.
     
    Vagabond_ likes this.
  13. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,070
    Vagabond_ likes this.
  14. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,070
  15. Danua

    Danua

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Posts:
    187
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.