Search Unity

Terrain Options for Mobile.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Job_MTalha, Feb 2, 2021.

1. Job_MTalha

Job_MTalha

Hi, I am trying to creating a simple 3D mobile game. I am looking at optimization techniques before starting development, Where do I start, I am soo confused right now?

The game is third person, there are static walls, Grass, Water, mountains, fog, characters, enemy AI, force field, portal, (all low/ mid poly), I am not going for photorealistic models.

I have a few questions, Please Guide me as this is very confusing. I have no knowledge of blender, I am coming from unity2D to 3D.

What should be the resolution for the assets?
    When I import some models from blender to unity even though the scale is 1 the models are HUGE. then I have to set the scale of the model to 0.01 to achieve right scale. Is that okay? or is it not a good practice, performance wise?
    Should I use one big terrain or smaller terrains? Guide me pls.
    Is Urp A good Idea for mobile? If so then what should be the target settings of the urp asset? Low, medium, high? Which one should I target?
    I want to Use the new Shaders, For that I guess URP is compulsory right?

I just want balanced look, I am not going for ultra beautiful assets, I just want a balance in the graphics and performance, so that for mobiles > year 2015, I can ensure a smooth experience.

Last edited: Feb 2, 2021
    DungDajHjep likes this.
  2. Job_MTalha

Job_MTalha

? anyone?

3. Antypodish

Antypodish

First thing first, if you aim to make decent profit on you mobile games, you may be rather dissapointed. Your chances are close to 0. But if just for learning purposes, sure go ahead.
    You better of luck however, with resktop games.