Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Terrain is really messing me up

Discussion in 'World Building' started by skyemagethe3rd, May 18, 2018.

1. skyemagethe3rd

skyemagethe3rd

I'm pretty new to Unity and have been scouring this site and youtube videos to try to get as much information as I can. Each day I'm presented with a new problem and a solution. Today's problem is: Terrain. No matter what I do my custom model falls through the Terrain when I try to play. I've deleted and redone terrain so many times, and now my character is falling through even planes. I've racked my brain trying to find a solution, and I know it will be so easy I'll kick myself when I get it but for now, I need help.

Here are some images of my settings so you guys can see what I'm doin wrong and help me to rectify it

*Terrain:
    Terrain Troubleshoot Img 1 (terrain).jpg

*Character:

Terrain Troubleshoot Img 2 (character).jpg

the question marks are because I have NO IDEA if those are supposed to be there as I saw a couple quick fixes to similar problems while searching for the answer and tried them out to no avail. As I'm on Unity 2018.1 Idk if the solutions for 2017 or even Unity 5 are supposed to help in my case. Please help so I can get back to trying to make my game thank you :)

2. Mauri

Mauri

The character falls through, because the Box Collider already intersects with the Terrain. No collision detection is happening, so your character falls through it. What happens if you move your character waay up and then press Play?

By the way: Don't use a Box Collider for your character. Use a Mesh Collider instead and tick the "Convex" checkbox.

Finally, remove the Mesh Collider from your Terrain. You already have a Collider attached to it - no need to have two :)

3. skyemagethe3rd

skyemagethe3rd