Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Terrain Composer2 a next generation GPU powered terrain tool.

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by eagle555, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. eagle555

    eagle555

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Posts:
    2,704
    Thanks for contacting. TC2 uses standard Unity terrain. That depends on which detail you want this to be? If it's like Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020, which is super ambitious as it actually streams in all satellite images because they are 2000 peta bytes and can't be stored locally on a PC. Unity terrain is not made for this...
     
  2. bobAZ2019

    bobAZ2019

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2019
    Posts:
    24
    standard Unity terrain is fine as long as the terrain generates during game play.
    example, right now, if i choose a terrain size of 500 x 500, it is set at that number.
    i want to be able to have the terrain expands in the camera view as the PLAYER goes outside of the original 500x500.
     
  3. eagle555

    eagle555

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Posts:
    2,704
    TC2 can do terrain streaming, but you won't have a view distance like in MS FS2020...
     
  4. AtomsInTheVoid

    AtomsInTheVoid

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Posts:
    202
    If you're making a decently large world, you might wanna know there's a new way to fly around your scene all the cool kids are using. Once you see this you'll wonder why no ones thought of this before!

    Just point off in the distance and fly! Preview camera let's you know where you'll land and you can even adjust the final view before you jump. You'll save tons of time and even have fun exploring your beautiful worlds.

    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/tools/utilities/scene-pilot-177244
     
  5. eagle555

    eagle555

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Posts:
    2,704
    The preview is a neat idea indeed. Actually my Debugging Essentials has a runtime camera which you can override anytime where you can click, focus, follow objects and deep inspecting them, where purpose is debugging, inspecting, making screenshots or exploring. And that's just a tiny part of it:

     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
  6. Wim-Wouters

    Wim-Wouters

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Posts:
    26
    Hi,
    I've owned Terrain Composer for quite some time now, but only just got around to using it for a commercial project... and having a lot of fun doing so.
    To optimize performance for mobile devices and web-browsers I was thinking to export my generated terrains as mesh. I see this was available in 1.3, but can't find any reference to it in v2...
    Is this option still available?

    Thank you and kind regards,
    Wim
     
  7. eagle555

    eagle555

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Posts:
    2,704
    Hi,

    Thanks for contacting. You can use this wiki script for it:
    http://wiki.unity3d.com/index.php/TerrainObjExporter
     
    syscrusher likes this.
  8. TheMessyCoder

    TheMessyCoder

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Posts:
    509
    Hi Everybody!
    Come join me today as I talk with Nathaniel @eagle555 live on my twitch stream!
    www.twitch.tv/TheMessyCoder

    We go live 6PM UK time, so that's 10am PT, 1PM ET, and 8PM EET

    We will be talking about TC2, Mesh Combine Studio, Debugger Essentials and playing DRONE!
    ALSO GIVING AWAY PRESENTS!!!!!!!!!!! Its always nice to get some stuff for free!

    nathaniel_.jpg
     
  9. TheMessyCoder

    TheMessyCoder

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Posts:
    509
  10. gecko

    gecko

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,145
    Is there any way to set the Bend Factor on trees when assigning them to TC terrains? I have 64 terrains, would rather not have to open each tree on each terrain and change that...
     
  11. eagle555

    eagle555

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Posts:
    2,704
    Yes you can do it in the TerrainArea Inspector and apply to all terrains:
    upload_2020-11-28_20-1-25.png
     
    gecko likes this.
  12. gecko

    gecko

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,145
    D'oh!
     
  13. brokendreamer

    brokendreamer

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I'm new to TC2.
    The ability to move terrain features around is Fantastic! Making experimental real time changes in Play Mode has really speeded up map development.


    Question:
    Has anybody found a way to smooth the intersection between two stamps?

     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2020
  14. eagle555

    eagle555

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Posts:
    2,704
    Thanks for contacting and I'm glad to hear you like TC2 :)

    Smoothing intersections can be done with the curves like this:
    upload_2020-12-27_10-44-35.png
     
    syscrusher likes this.
  15. kamicth

    kamicth

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Posts:
    26
    hello, this look like crasy.

    i'm using space graphic toolkit to generate and populate several systems at scale.
    i'm not satisfied with the terain gneneration of planets, but TC2 would replace this feature if it intended for LODed multi tiles planet sized spherical terrain.

    so is it possible to use TC2 for this purpose ?
     
  16. aler_buffon

    aler_buffon

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Hi, does this tool have support for working with mesh terrains, is there a conversion from regular terrain to mesh terrain?
     
  17. eagle555

    eagle555

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Posts:
    2,704
    Hi thanks. TerrainComposer2 uses Unity terrain, so this is not really possible.

    Hi, not directly as it's using Unity terrain. But you can convert Unity terrain to a mesh with e.g. this script:
    https://wiki.unity3d.com/index.php/TerrainObjExporter
     
  18. marcrem

    marcrem

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Posts:
    237
    Hi,

    You seem to be the only result in the entire internet with that error. It's a long shot cause it's been a while, but did you find a solution for that error?
     
  19. lmtm

    lmtm

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Posts:
    32
    Trees density problem.

    Hi,
    when I generate trees in TC1, trees density can be set to 1024 and the is possible to generate terrain like this :

    upload_2021-3-2_18-3-34.png

    This is controlling picture :

    upload_2021-3-2_18-2-46.png
    But in TC2 is result like this :
    upload_2021-3-2_18-4-44.png

    Can You help me, what can I do with TC2 to have same tree density?

    Thank You,

    Milos.

    P.S. Terrain is 4096*4096m, control picture is same resolution, I'm on Unity2020. In Unity terrain editor is no problem to draw same density of trees as in TC1.
     
  20. lmtm

    lmtm

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Posts:
    32
    I found solution : Smaller number=higher density.
    Milos.

    upload_2021-3-2_18-58-28.png
     
    hopeful likes this.
  21. heXzoN

    heXzoN

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Was trying to achieve this. How exactly can you deactivate/activate manually placed objects if they are on an activate tile ?
     
  22. alphabean11

    alphabean11

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    I have been struggling the past few days on an issue in TC2 that I really need some help with. I’m trying to use the collision node. I setup a cube with the TC_AutoGenerate script, I added a collision node and a mask collision node. And then when I generate on my terrain, it crashes (no trees or grass, even removed splatmaps). I tested this on the example scene, and it works fine there. So what could be causing it to crash on my terrain? I have Microsplat and nature renderer, so I don’t know if they could possibly be causing it? I’ve also attached the error that pops up when it crashes.
     

    Attached Files:

unityunity