Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Temporary workaround for Hub bug

Discussion in 'Linux' started by KevinWelton, Oct 16, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KevinWelton

    KevinWelton

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Posts:
    235
    The Hub is now installed on supported platforms via the corresponding package manager. Please see the documentation at https://docs.unity3d.com/hub/manual/InstallHub.html#install-hub-linux to install the Hub. You may want to clean up the files and edits from these steps prior to moving over to the package.

    There is currently a bug in the Linux Hub where Hub links do not open the Hub. Additionally, searching for and launching the Hub in GNOME doesn't work.

    Until the issue is fixed in the official build, here is a completely unofficial workaround that should get you going. Note that this is only tested on GNOME with no path configuration changes.

    You can tell if you affected by this bug by checking for the existence of ~/.local/share/applications/appimagekit-unityhub.desktop. If this file does exist, you should be OK.

    Otherwise, you can work around the issue by applying the following steps:

    1) Create the file ~/.local/share/applications/appimagekit-unityhub.desktop with the following contents, substituting your correct home path and path of the UnityHub.AppImage file:

    [Desktop Entry]
    Name=Unity Hub
    Comment=The Official Unity Hub
    Exec="/home/SubstituteMe/.local/bin/UnityHub.AppImage" %U
    Terminal=false
    Type=Application
    Icon=appimagekit-unityhub
    MimeType=x-scheme-handler/unityhub;
    Categories=Development;
    X-Desktop-File-Install-Version=0.24
    TryExec=/home/SubstituteMe/.local/bin/UnityHub.AppImage
    2) (Updated, see old step below if you have issues.) Run the following command to register the URL scheme with XDG: xdg-mime default appimagekit-unityhub.desktop x-scheme-handler/unityhub

    2) Create or open the file ~/.local/share/applications/mimeinfo.cache. Add the following content. If the file already exists, leave out the first line:

    [MIME Cache]
    x-scheme-handler/unityhub=appimagekit-unityhub.desktop;
    You should now be able to open Hub links and search for it in GNOME.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2022
  2. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,322
    Could you give an example about that, a link I could try? I don't seem to have this problem and the desktop file doesn't exist in my system. I'm using Linux Mint Xfce. Thanks.
     
  3. Kaare

    Kaare

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks for the suggestion, but unfortunately that didn't fix the issue in Pop_OS 20.10 (Unity 2020.1.10f1)
     
    vsxvprince228 likes this.
  4. mosaic_school

    mosaic_school

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    74
    Works perfectly on Ubuntu 20.04. Really helpful workaround. Thanks for sharing!
     
  5. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,009
    unityhub://2019.4.8f1/60781d942082
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2020
  6. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,322
  7. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,009
    Sorry I messed up the link. I fixed it now. Anyway you should get a popup asking if you want to open it in Unity hub:

    upload_2020-10-28_1-2-54.png

    The links to actual builds can be found here (Under the green "Unity Hub" button): https://unity3d.com/get-unity/download/archive
     
  8. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,322
    Yeah, I've used these buttons many times in the past.

    The button for 2019.4.8.f1 you used as an example (not the link, the actual button on the archive page) actually works for me, once I've added the proper instructions to Firefox (I tend to forget to do that when a new version of the Hub is released. It wouldn't be a problem if I didn't change the name of UnityHub.Appimage into the full name of the new version though...):

    Capture d’écran_2020-10-28_17-13-32.png
    Once this done, on clicking on the green UnityHub button, the hub opens and offers to install Unity:

    Capture d’écran_2020-10-28_17-14-21.png
    Do I need to desktop file for anything else?
     
  9. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,009
    No. But if Unity hub installed that file correctly, you wouldn't have to modify Firefox settings: it would just work.
     
    APSchmidt likes this.
  10. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,322
    Oh, that's not much a bother. :)

    Will this be fixed in a future version of the Hub?
     
  11. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,009
    Yes, that's the plan but not sure about the timeline of that.
     
    APSchmidt likes this.
  12. KevinWelton

    KevinWelton

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Posts:
    235
    @APSchmidt, the .desktop file if still necessary if you are in an GNOME environment where only apps with .desktop files show up in app searches.

    Take Ubuntu for example. If you haven't added the Hub as a startup app, you will have to go to the CLI each time you want to start the Hub. If you have the .desktop file, you can press the Windows key and type "hub" and it will show in the search :)
     
  13. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,322
    Thanks for the input but, as I've already mentioned, I'm using Xfce, not Gnome. I have no problem at all starting the Hub. :)
     
  14. fran_m

    fran_m

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2020
    Posts:
    40
    It looks like a bug under Ubuntu, on Linux Mint 20 Cinnamon works fine.
     
  15. JeffersonFerreira

    JeffersonFerreira

    Joined:
    May 11, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks, I was thinking it was a problem with my installation, I managed to fix it with the instructions.

    I'm on Linux Mint 20 Cinnamon
     
  16. ettmetal

    ettmetal

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Even though Unity Hub is integrated into my desktop, and set to handle unityhub links, opening it via the browser only opens Unity Hub - it doesn't actually open the version for install. Passing the unityhub link to the Hub Appimage on the command line works, but feels like very much not the intended experience.

    Could this be related, or is it a separate bug?
     
  17. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,322
    Yes, it happens to me too. The only way, is clicking again and again on the Hub button on the web page until the installation starts... or try another day.

    Probably a bug of some sort, either related to the Hub itself or the servers. Difficult to say. :)
     
  18. KevinWelton

    KevinWelton

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Posts:
    235
    @ettmetal, @APSchmidt

    So clicking on a Hub link from the Unity Download Archive does not work after running both steps 1 and 2?

    I tried this on my Linux Mint 20.1 install and didn't have a problem with the Hub links.

    If you paste a specific link I can try, that would be helpful.
     
  19. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,322
    Unfortunately, it doesn't happen with every link; I remember having to try ten times in a row before the installation begins. I don't remember with version of Unity it was.
     
  20. remma12

    remma12

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    I know I'm not on a supported distro (dirty Arch/Plasma user here) but this worked perfectly for me

    Since the version installed from the AUR installed the bins rather than the appimage I modified the Exec and TryExec lines to /opt/unityhub/unityhub-bin

    Many thanks for the workaround
     
  21. ChakibChemso

    ChakibChemso

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    working! this should be stated in the docs tho
    but how to add an icon? this gear icon is ugly lol
     
  22. topnessman

    topnessman

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Please help! I'm having a trouble logging in into Unity. It pops up a dialog saying "You must install UnityHub to sign in and use unity services". I followed the steps and was expecting that this popup will go away, but it didn't. How can I let Unity know that UnityHub is already installed and let me log in? I'm using Ubuntu 20.04LTS. Thanks so much!
     
  23. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,322
  24. costinteo

    costinteo

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Hello!
    I am having this issue on Linux Mint 20.2 Cinnamon and the workaround doesn't work. Passing the link to the AppImage at CLI also doesn't work.

    More specifically: I can't login, the redirection link just opens an empty page.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2021
    nrlngyl likes this.
  25. hadrosaurunity

    hadrosaurunity

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I managed to get this to work. A couple of tips:
    • You need to create the file in #1 - yes, "Create" is the first word of the first instruction, but I somehow didn't read it :)
    • Remember to put the correct path to the appimage file (probably you have to replace not only your username but the path to the bin file)
    • You need to open the hub from the desktop entry (not via command line). In cinnamon launcher, if I created the .desktop file correctly, I could search for Unity Hub.
    • If you have gotten your browser / xdg in a weird state from all the previous attempts:
      • Open the Hub
      • Click on the sign-in link
      • You will be directed to an empty page
      • Copy the URL
      • Open a private browsing window
      • Paste in the URL
      • Sign-in on the web
      • You will see an empty page
      • Go back to the Hub, cross your fingers, it should hopefully log in now
    • I had to manually re-add my licenses to the new version (skip the buy flow after logging in and then manually activate)
     
  26. costinteo

    costinteo

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for the advice! I just redid all the steps carefully from the first post and I realised that I stupidly believed "~/path/to/AppImage" would mean the same as "/home/MyUsername/path/to/AppImage". Which is completely false because I presume my user isn't the one handling xdg? So now that I properly substituted the paths it works! Thanks again for making me try the steps again, haha!
     
    EthanFischer and superdoodjj like this.
  27. mauriciodelos

    mauriciodelos

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Hello, I know this is an old thread revived recently but I was having the same issue in Xubuntu 20.04 using Firefox or Chromium and wanted to say that this guide helped to solve my issue.

    Thanks!
     
  28. Bodsda

    Bodsda

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, just wanted to say thanks for this. I was stuck with UnityHub not logging in just opening a blank webpage. After following this all is working. One thing to note, the .desktop lines have the AppImage name as UnityHub.AppImage - The one I download was UnityHubBeta.AppImage, but works as expected after getting the paths and the filename correct.
     
    superdoodjj likes this.
  29. superdoodjj

    superdoodjj

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks a bunch! Got it to work with Pop!_OS 21.04.

    hadrosaurunity and Bodsda's comments were both super helpful. Thanks!
     
  30. MostHated

    MostHated

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Posts:
    1,190
    No, I use a script to launch my projects from terminal by just typing `unity project_name`

    To launch a project, you just need to run the Unity binary and pass the path to your project's root using '-projectPath', no need to launch the hub first.
    Ex: /home/my_user/unity/2020.3.20f1/Editor/Unity -projectPath /path/to/my/unity/project
     
  31. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,322
    No longer, you need to start Unity through the Hub nowadays.
     
  32. largosensei

    largosensei

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    This issue is still present on UnityHubBeta.AppImage V 3.0.0-beta6 in Debian 11 x64amd - KDE Plasma

    Tested on Firefox-ESR Firefov-Dev-Ed Konqurer and Chromium. All same result with no changes to behavior. But this now affects Hub Logins outright. Since switching from embedded login dialog over to browser oauth.

    OP's solution worked with minor correction to the appImage name intended. (UnityHub > UnityHubBeta)
    Step 2 was not necessary in my case. It just worked.

    EDIT. The re-release of the Linux UnityHub 3.0.0-beta6 will resolve this issue (Archive, not the solo AppImage) Follow included install instructions and it'll place the *.desktop file for you now.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2021
  33. cagh

    cagh

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Доброго времени суток. При входе с версии 3.0.0-beta.6 sing in выдает ошибку .Помогите исправить

    {
    "message" : "Conversation Not Found",
    "code" : "132.191",
    "details" : [ {
    "field" : "cid",
    "reason" : "Conversation d79b4a81-f2e1-41ca-8528-e4dbd886a6f200af not found"
    } ]
    }
     
  34. MilitaryG

    MilitaryG

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2021
    Posts:
    24
    KevinWelton

    Witch version of unity hub should i use as mine freezes when i try to search for licence
    I'm a little confused how licence should be able to get and set is there any complete guide that would guide me through the process.

    Seeing that xfce has less bug problems I might just switch to manjaro xfce also seeing arch doesn't have problems (people's posts)
     
  35. MilitaryG

    MilitaryG

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2021
    Posts:
    24
    ok found the witch hub to install

    https://unity.com/download

    and just follow the steps on the read me file

    works fine

    on Xubuntu
     
  36. ID-RDS-2

    ID-RDS-2

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Sorry but this fix is not working on Ubuntu 18.04 - It works on Ubuntu 20.04. I tried with both Chrome and Firefox. I dont see the Pop-Up when I click on the Green Unity Hub button for a specific Unity version.

    @Tautvydas-Zilys @KevinWelton Any suggestions on what I could do?
     
  37. Nightwalker83

    Nightwalker83

    Joined:
    May 13, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    I can't get the desktop shortcut working! I have followed what it says in post 1.
     
  38. MilitaryG

    MilitaryG

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2021
    Posts:
    24
    if you are on archlinux or manjaro which this 2 aren't supported BUT in AUR repository there's UnityHUB it works flawless
     
  39. KevinWelton

    KevinWelton

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Posts:
    235
    I will update this post. The Hub should now be installed via the package manager. The package will configure the Hub link making the workaround unnecessary.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.