Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Temp/UnityEngine.TestRunner.dll Error

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by TechSideOfficial, Jun 30, 2021.

  1. TechSideOfficial

    TechSideOfficial

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    I am getting this error called failed to copy temp/UnityEngine.TestRunner.dll to some random folder that i cant remember. Unity just does not respond. I close the un responding window through task manager and restarted it and lost all of my work. I would say unity is dumb and annoying because of this. My project took me 2 hours to make and it is all gone. HELP!
     
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,278
    Recent versions of unity have an annoying habit of crapping useless packages into your project. When those packages inevitably have errors, this sort of thing happens. I have railed about it before.

    Go into the package manager and remove crap you don't need, like the entire test runner and collab and whatnot.

    If you feel brave you can hand-edit the
    Packages/manifest.json
    file a lot faster than using the laggy package manager interface that only lets you remove one package at a time:

    crudware.png

    I'm sorry you've had this issue. Please consider using source control in order to guard and protect your hard-earned work.

    Personally I use git because it is free and there are tons of tutorials out there to help you set it up.

    As far as configuring Unity to play nice with git, keep this in mind:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/prefab-links-keep-getting-dumped-on-git-pull.646600/#post-7142306

    Here's how I use git in one of my games, Jetpack Kurt:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/2-steps-backwards.965048/#post-6282497

    Using fine-grained source control as you work to refine your engineering:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/whe...grammer-example-in-text.1048739/#post-6783740

    Share/Sharing source code between projects:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/your-techniques-to-share-code-between-projects.575959/#post-3835837

    Setting up the right .gitignore file:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/removing-il2cpp_cache-from-project.1084607/#post-6997067

    Generally setting Unity up (includes above .gitignore concepts):

    https://thoughtbot.com/blog/how-to-git-with-unity
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2021
  3. TechSideOfficial

    TechSideOfficial

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for the help.
    I am using the Unity version 2020.3.12f1.
    Will I be able to make it work if I built my project in Unity version 2019.4.17f1 and then opened it in Unity 2020.3.12f1?
     
  4. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,278
    Upgrades are one-way UP to higher version numbers only.

    ALWAYS use source control properly and TEST that you have used it properly before upgrading.

    Personally I use git because it is free and there are tons of tutorials out there to help you set it up.

    As far as configuring Unity to play nice with git, keep this in mind:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/prefab-links-keep-getting-dumped-on-git-pull.646600/#post-7142306

    Here's how I use git in one of my games, Jetpack Kurt:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/2-steps-backwards.965048/#post-6282497

    Using fine-grained source control as you work to refine your engineering:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/whe...grammer-example-in-text.1048739/#post-6783740

    Share/Sharing source code between projects:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/your-techniques-to-share-code-between-projects.575959/#post-3835837

    Setting up the right .gitignore file:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/removing-il2cpp_cache-from-project.1084607/#post-6997067

    Generally setting Unity up (includes above .gitignore concepts):

    https://thoughtbot.com/blog/how-to-git-with-unity
     
  5. TechSideOfficial

    TechSideOfficial

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    I don't know how to set up source control or git and i am not wasting my time on it
     
  6. nathan2019spence

    nathan2019spence

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2022
    Posts:
    19
    I got the same error, I accidently linked an old project ID to my current project, that had the old colloborate version still on it instead of the Plastic SCM. So, I just created a new product ID and linked it to my new project and the error went away.
     
  7. rlawhddl118585

    rlawhddl118585

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Every time this error occurs, I'm tired of correcting it by referring to this site... :(
     
    Kurt-Dekker likes this.
  8. CoreCoder

    CoreCoder

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Posts:
    41
    If you get this error, restart Unity. It should allow you to start unity in SafeMode. Once it comes up read the errors it gives you, most probably a file pointing to some plugin. It should state clearly where the file(s) are, delete them and Unity will restart by itself and your work is restored.
     
  9. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    5,025
    upload_2023-9-10_17-37-12.png

    Worth pointing out that for the IDE packages you should remove the one's that you don't use, which may not necessarily be the ones highlighted here. ;)

    Although in all fairness, VSCode ought to be removed indiscriminately. :D
     
  10. Brother_77

    Brother_77

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Posts:
    232
    Deleting the entries from json files is all that needs ? Engine clears the data afterwards ?
     
  11. spiney199

    spiney199

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Posts:
    7,258
    Or just remove them via the package manager.
     
    Brother_77 likes this.
  12. Vaupell

    Vaupell

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    302
    ahh Thank you,, still highly usefull post for Latest LTS here in 2024... <3
     
  13. Lo-renzo

    Lo-renzo

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2018
    Posts:
    1,471
    It would be great if Package Manager had a bulk removal option so manifest editing isn't required.
     
  14. Altonilite

    Altonilite

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    Guys, help. I removed all the unnecessary stuff but the stupid notifications still pop up like crazy.