Search Unity

Bug Teleporting to a projectile - Moving the player error

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by UTCLuisMoseley, Nov 29, 2022.

1. UTCLuisMoseley

UTCLuisMoseley

I've been working on a project involving instantiating an orb which then teleports the player to its location when hitting any object I tag with "floor". I am relatively new to programming and so any help is appreciated.
    Code (CSharp):
    1.   void OnCollisionEnter(Collision col)
    2.     {
    3.         if (col.gameObject.tag == "Floor")
    4.         {
    5.             script.canShoot = true;
    6.             isTriggered = true;
    7.             player.transform.position = teleportLocation;
    8.             Destroy(gameObject);
    9.             Debug.Log("hit floor");
    10.         }
    12.     }
    My "teleportLocation" is just the orbs constant position as of currently.

Currently the issue I am facing is with moving the player, I have substituted the player for a cube which did work when setting the position.
    This is my script for instantiating the projectile:

Code (CSharp):
    1.   Vector3 dir = mouse.transform.position - transform.position;
    2.         if (!disabled)
    3.         {
    5.              GameObject instance = Instantiate(orbPrefab, orbShooter.transform.position, orbPrefab.transform.rotation);
    6.              instance.GetComponent<Rigidbody>().AddForce(dir * power);
    7.              instance.transform.position = new Vector3(0, 0, 0);
    9.         }
    The only way I have been able to teleport the player to the orb successfully was through this script:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public class teleport : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    3.     public Vector3 tpPos;
    4.     public GameObject testOrb;
    5.     // Start is called before the first frame update
    6.     void Start()
    7.     {
    9.     }
    11.     void Update()
    12.     {
    13.         tpPos = testOrb.transform.position;