Search Unity

Teleport on clicking an object?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by VikingTheMad, Sep 2, 2016.

1. VikingTheMad

VikingTheMad

So I'm trying to figure out how to click on an object and teleport to another location. I can't figure it out for the life of me, I'm not very good with this. Code I got is
    Code (JavaScript):
    1. var destination : Transform;
    3. function OnTriggerEnter (col : Collider) {
    5.     this.transform.position = destination.position;
    6. }
    What am I doing wrong?

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

Looks good superficially.

But is the destination transform set properly?

Is there a rigidbody on the object this script is on?

Is the collider set to be IsTrigger?

There's a good checklist to start with.

3. VikingTheMad

VikingTheMad

Pretty sure its set properly, I have the destination as an empty game object tagged with 'destination', and set into the destination box on the script. Entrance has the default rigidbody applied, box collider I've tried both with ticked on or off both with trigger ticked on.

I'm not sure if its set wrong, and not sure how I would fix it. Although I also realized that this would just let me walk through it, how would I can it so I can just click on it to teleport?

4. DonLoquacious

DonLoquacious

Some general rules.
    • A rigidbody should be on every object that is actively moving around the scene that you want to affect and be affected by the physics engine (anything that isn't static) along with a collider.
    • A collider should be set on any object you want to physically affect other objects, and a trigger placed on any object that you want to logically affect other objects without physically pushing against them.
    • The rigidbody/collider needs to come into physical contact with a collider or trigger in order to set off the OnCollision/OnTrigger functions.
    • Each rigidbody/collider affects other colliders and triggers depending on the layers in which they're placed.