Search Unity

Teaching Old Dog New Tricks(can artist learn to code?)

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by brucegregory, Nov 12, 2005.

1. brucegregory

brucegregory

I've been a Mac user since 1984 and know a lot about 2D and 3D graphics and animation - years of practice and application. Being an artist I have a built-in aversion to code - it makes me cringe and immediately seek to pull out the little hair I have left. Over the years I have made several attempts to learn scripting of various kinds, always leaving the pursuit for the same reasons. I don't think like a machine, I like immediate feedback and reward and I make syntax errors.

Now, I have been led to understand that Unity is the Bees Knees, when it comes to making a game of some sort. Still, it requires, it demands, it forces one to learn to code - Ohhhh noooooooo. Can't you guys just make pictures that stand for code that I can drag and drop and make things gamelike happen? Why not?

Another thing that has stopped me from pursuing coding in a more long lasting fashion is the way programmers think, talk and attempt to communicate what they know. Programmers do not, generally speaking, think like I do . . . I believe "natural" programmers think symbolically . . . about everything. That is why they like to express themselves in code form. That is why they have chosen programming as a vocation, and often times, as an avocation. On the other hand, the artist thinks pictorially, literally and in a straightforward fashion. And thus, a great chasm has been formed which separates the artist from the programmer.