Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Other Target Texture stopping me from pressing buttons in game

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by TRiley12, May 20, 2023.

  1. TRiley12

    TRiley12

    Joined:
    May 3, 2023
    Posts:
    6
    I am new to unity and am currently making a game as part of my college course, I'm using GBCamera from Itch.io as my textures to save on time. But whenever I try to click on my buttons in game it doesn't work, but when I change my target texture to none i can then interact with the butttons in game.

    here is my code for the keypad
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4. using UnityEngine.Events;
    5.  
    6. public class Keypad : MonoBehaviour
    7. {
    8.     public string password = "5671";
    9.     private string userInput = "";
    10.  
    11.     public UnityEvent OnEntryAllowed;
    12.     public UnityEvent OnEntryDenied;
    13.  
    14.     private void start()
    15.     {
    16.         userInput = "";
    17.     }
    18.  
    19.     public void buttonClicked(string number)
    20.     {
    21.         userInput += number;
    22.         if (userInput.Length >= 4)
    23.         {
    24.             //check password
    25.             if (userInput == password)
    26.             {
    27.                 // todo invoke event and play sounds
    28.                 Debug.Log("Entry Granted");
    29.                 OnEntryAllowed.Invoke();
    30.             }
    31.             else
    32.             {
    33.                 Debug.Log("Entry Denied");
    34.                 OnEntryDenied.Invoke();
    35.                 userInput = "";
    36.             }
    37.         }
    38.     }
    39.  
    40. }
    here is the button code.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4. using UnityEngine.Events;
    5.  
    6. public class ButtonScript : MonoBehaviour
    7. {
    8.     public int KeypadNumber = 1;
    9.  
    10.     public UnityEvent KeypadClicked;
    11.  
    12.     private void OnMouseDown()
    13.     {
    14.         KeypadClicked.Invoke();
    15.     }
    16. }
    here are screenshots of my camera
    upload_2023-5-20_21-47-37.png

    and a video of the issue
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2023
  2. MelvMay

    MelvMay

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    10,277
  3. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    36,160
    If you post a code snippet, ALWAYS USE CODE TAGS:

    How to use code tags: https://forum.unity.com/threads/using-code-tags-properly.143875/

    It appears you may be hammering this in from a tutorial, so make sure you hammer correctly. Here's how:

    Tutorials and example code are great, but keep this in mind to maximize your success and minimize your frustration:

    How to do tutorials properly, two (2) simple steps to success:

    Step 1. Follow the tutorial and do every single step of the tutorial 100% precisely the way it is shown. Even the slightest deviation (even a single character!) generally ends in disaster. That's how software engineering works. Every step must be taken, every single letter must be spelled, capitalized, punctuated and spaced (or not spaced) properly, literally NOTHING can be omitted or skipped.

    Fortunately this is the easiest part to get right: Be a robot. Don't make any mistakes.
    BE PERFECT IN EVERYTHING YOU DO HERE!!


    If you get any errors, learn how to read the error code and fix your error. Google is your friend here. Do NOT continue until you fix your error. Your error will probably be somewhere near the parenthesis numbers (line and character position) in the file. It is almost CERTAINLY your typo causing the error, so look again and fix it.

    Step 2. Go back and work through every part of the tutorial again, and this time explain it to your doggie. See how I am doing that in my avatar picture? If you have no dog, explain it to your house plant. If you are unable to explain any part of it, STOP. DO NOT PROCEED. Now go learn how that part works. Read the documentation on the functions involved. Go back to the tutorial and try to figure out WHY they did that. This is the part that takes a LOT of time when you are new. It might take days or weeks to work through a single 5-minute tutorial. Stick with it. You will learn.

    Step 2 is the part everybody seems to miss. Without Step 2 you are simply a code-typing monkey and outside of the specific tutorial you did, you will be completely lost. If you want to learn, you MUST do Step 2.

    Of course, all this presupposes no errors in the tutorial. For certain tutorial makers (like Unity, Brackeys, Imphenzia, Sebastian Lague) this is usually the case. For some other less-well-known content creators, this is less true. Read the comments on the video: did anyone have issues like you did? If there's an error, you will NEVER be the first guy to find it.

    Beyond that, Step 3, 4, 5 and 6 become easy because you already understand!

    Finally, when you have errors, don't post here... just go fix your errors! Here's how:

    Remember: NOBODY here memorizes error codes. That's not a thing. The error code is absolutely the least useful part of the error. It serves no purpose at all. Forget the error code. Put it out of your mind.

    The complete error message contains everything you need to know to fix the error yourself.

    The important parts of the error message are:

    - the description of the error itself (google this; you are NEVER the first one!)
    - the file it occurred in (critical!)
    - the line number and character position (the two numbers in parentheses)
    - also possibly useful is the stack trace (all the lines of text in the lower console window)

    Always start with the FIRST error in the console window, as sometimes that error causes or compounds some or all of the subsequent errors. Often the error will be immediately prior to the indicated line, so make sure to check there as well.

    Look in the documentation. Every API you attempt to use is probably documented somewhere. Are you using it correctly? Are you spelling it correctly?

    All of that information is in the actual error message and you must pay attention to it. Learn how to identify it instantly so you don't have to stop your progress and fiddle around with the forum.

    When it still doesn't work then it is...

    Time to start debugging! Here is how you can begin your exciting new debugging adventures:

    You must find a way to get the information you need in order to reason about what the problem is.

    Once you understand what the problem is, you may begin to reason about a solution to the problem.

    What is often happening in these cases is one of the following:

    - the code you think is executing is not actually executing at all
    - the code is executing far EARLIER or LATER than you think
    - the code is executing far LESS OFTEN than you think
    - the code is executing far MORE OFTEN than you think
    - the code is executing on another GameObject than you think it is
    - you're getting an error or warning and you haven't noticed it in the console window

    To help gain more insight into your problem, I recommend liberally sprinkling
    Debug.Log()
    statements through your code to display information in realtime.

    Doing this should help you answer these types of questions:

    - is this code even running? which parts are running? how often does it run? what order does it run in?
    - what are the names of the GameObjects or Components involved?
    - what are the values of the variables involved? Are they initialized? Are the values reasonable?
    - are you meeting ALL the requirements to receive callbacks such as triggers / colliders (review the documentation)

    Knowing this information will help you reason about the behavior you are seeing.

    You can also supply a second argument to Debug.Log() and when you click the message, it will highlight the object in scene, such as
    Debug.Log("Problem!",this);


    If your problem would benefit from in-scene or in-game visualization, Debug.DrawRay() or Debug.DrawLine() can help you visualize things like rays (used in raycasting) or distances.

    You can also call Debug.Break() to pause the Editor when certain interesting pieces of code run, and then study the scene manually, looking for all the parts, where they are, what scripts are on them, etc.

    You can also call GameObject.CreatePrimitive() to emplace debug-marker-ish objects in the scene at runtime.

    You could also just display various important quantities in UI Text elements to watch them change as you play the game.

    Visit Google for how to see console output from builds. If you are running a mobile device you can also view the console output. Google for how on your particular mobile target, such as this answer or iOS: https://forum.unity.com/threads/how-to-capturing-device-logs-on-ios.529920/ or this answer for Android: https://forum.unity.com/threads/how-to-capturing-device-logs-on-android.528680/

    If you are working in VR, it might be useful to make your on onscreen log output, or integrate one from the asset store, so you can see what is happening as you operate your software.

    Another useful approach is to temporarily strip out everything besides what is necessary to prove your issue. This can simplify and isolate compounding effects of other items in your scene or prefab.

    Here's an example of putting in a laser-focused Debug.Log() and how that can save you a TON of time wallowing around speculating what might be going wrong:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/coroutine-missing-hint-and-error.1103197/#post-7100494

    "When in doubt, print it out!(tm)" - Kurt Dekker (and many others)

    Note: the
    print()
    function is an alias for Debug.Log() provided by the MonoBehaviour class.
     
    TRiley12 likes this.
  4. TRiley12

    TRiley12

    Joined:
    May 3, 2023
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for taking the time to look at this Kurt, But the main problem I have is that no error messages come up and all parts of the code appear to work fine without the textures I'm using. It is only when I place my render texture inside target texture it becomes an issue. I have debug logs inside of my code to fire when the right numbers have been entered and if any numbers have been pressed, but when i place the render texture in all of my debug logs do not fire as they should in the video I sent with my original message you can see a debug log fires only after I have got rid of the target texture. I haven't found anything related to this issue on the internet as to why I am on here. Any help would be greatly appreciated since I have no clue as to what it could be. P.S sorry for not using cod tags
     
  5. mopthrow

    mopthrow

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Posts:
    341
    Can't say for sure, but I have a suggestion that maybe your render texture is blocking your raycast. The docs say OnMouseDown is ignore by Ignore Raycast layers, so assume it works as a raycast.
    https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/MonoBehaviour.OnMouseDown.html bottom paragraph.

    Seems this post ran in to the same problem:
    https://answers.unity.com/questions/1827929/render-texture-blocking-raycast-from-camera.html

    The top solution seems to

    1 Make a raycast script that fires a ray from the camera and test that it hits things.
    This gives you the code to fire a ray from the camera.
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/CameraRays.html

    2 Once it's working, set your raycast to use a LayerMask as documented in the examples here.
    https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Physics.Raycast.html

    3 Set your render texture game object to use this layermask (top right drop down on your game object)

    Disclaimer, I've never tried this but that's where I'd start in the absense of other suggestions.
     
  6. TRiley12

    TRiley12

    Joined:
    May 3, 2023
    Posts:
    6
    thanks for the help, is the raycast only supposed to go off once since my raycast only goes off once with a debug log here is the code im using for the raycast if this helps at all. Also my Render texture is not a game object.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    3.  
    4. public class Raycast : MonoBehaviour {
    5.     public Camera camera;
    6.  
    7.     void Start(){
    8.         RaycastHit hit;
    9.         Ray ray = camera.ScreenPointToRay(Input.mousePosition);
    10.  
    11.      
    12.         if (Physics.Raycast(ray, out hit)) {
    13.             Transform objectHit = hit.transform;
    14.          
    15.                 Debug.Log("raycast");
    16.         }
    17.     }
    18. }
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2023
  7. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    36,160
    Things in Start() only go off once.
     
  8. TRiley12

    TRiley12

    Joined:
    May 3, 2023
    Posts:
    6
    I Changed it to void update but now it does not go off at all
     
  9. mopthrow

    mopthrow

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Posts:
    341
    It can run whenever you want, but setting it run every frame is fine as a test. Might want to put it in its own function and only run that function on a button click. But since you put it in Update for now;

    If it's not working, show us the code ;) Did you capialise the U in Update?
     
  10. TRiley12

    TRiley12

    Joined:
    May 3, 2023
    Posts:
    6
    Sorry for the late reply but i have got the Raycast to work but i'm not sure what part of the code to use from here https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Physics.Raycast.html to get the layermask to work and for the final step you told me about im not to sure either since my render texture is not a game object
    here is the code i have on my raycast for now
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    3.  
    4. public class Raycast : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    6.     Camera cam;
    7.  
    8.     void Start()
    9.     {
    10.         cam = GetComponent<Camera>();
    11.     }
    12.  
    13.     void Update()
    14.     {
    15.         Ray ray = cam.ViewportPointToRay(new Vector3(0.5F, 0.5F, 0));
    16.         RaycastHit hit;
    17.         if (Physics.Raycast(ray, out hit))
    18.             print("I'm looking at " + hit.transform.name);
    19.         else
    20.             print("I'm looking at nothing!");
    21.     }
    22. }
     
  11. mopthrow

    mopthrow

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Posts:
    341
    Before starting on the layer masks, make sure your raycast is working on all your cameras.

    Place your raycast on all cameras. Also put it behind a button click so it's not firing constantly, then change the Debug.Log() to include the camera name.

    What I expect you'll find is that one camera hits and one camera misses, then when you change to your render texture, the camera that hits and misses is reversed. If that's the casee, then layers aren't the problem, it's that your ray was coming from the wrong camera.

    I tested in a blank project and this seems to be how RenderTexture is working. Here's the raycast I put on each camera:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2.  
    3. public class Raycaster : MonoBehaviour
    4. {
    5.     private Camera camera;
    6.  
    7.     private void Start()
    8.     {
    9.         camera = GetComponent<Camera>();
    10.     }
    11.  
    12.     private void Update()
    13.     {
    14.         if (Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Mouse0))
    15.         {
    16.             DoRaycast();
    17.         }
    18.     }
    19.  
    20.     private void DoRaycast()
    21.     {
    22.         RaycastHit hit;
    23.         Ray ray = camera.ScreenPointToRay(Input.mousePosition);
    24.         if (Physics.Raycast(ray, out hit))
    25.         {
    26.             Debug.Log($"hit {hit.transform.name} at {hit.point} from {camera.name}");
    27.         }
    28.         else
    29.         {
    30.             Debug.Log($"missed from {camera.name}");
    31.         }
    32.     }
    33. }
     
  12. TRiley12

    TRiley12

    Joined:
    May 3, 2023
    Posts:
    6
    thanks for the raycast script it helped a lot to determine which camera it was but for some reason the camera no longer renders using GBCamera, but works fine when it is not assigned as the render texture so I'm not sure what else to do.
    here are some screenshots of my test in case you see something I've missed.
    upload_2023-5-25_21-27-51.png
    upload_2023-5-25_21-28-23.png
    upload_2023-5-25_21-29-50.png
    upload_2023-5-25_21-30-9.png
     
  13. mopthrow

    mopthrow

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Posts:
    341
    I don't see anyting unfortunately, only that your other cameras moved to the bottom of the heirarchy. It might be worth rolling back to where the render textures worked as I don't believe a raycast would stop anything from rendering. It must have been something else that was changed, unfortunately, I have no idea what it could be.

    If you don't have a version to roll back to, and you're not sure what was changed, rebuilding your heirarchy in a new scene bit by bit until it stops working might be quickest way to get back to the working state you had in your first post.