Search Unity

Taking control of framerate to ensure precise timing

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Redz0ne, Oct 7, 2015.

1. Redz0ne

Redz0ne

Hello!

I've been researching fighting games and one of the most common things I've learned is that framerate control is crucial.

I've been looking at the scripting API to see what systems I'd use and I suspect time.CaptureFramerate is the command... But the example is a bit mystifying to me (I'm a relative noob to coding though I am learning.)

Thing is... While the animation I am going to be making is going to be done in 60fps, I need a way to control the timing and framerate so that I can appropriately synchronize the animations, inputs and control interface (and anything I may be missing) so that I can get precision.

And if you know someone in the FGC, chances are they'll tell you that precision is important.

I know there are asset-store kits for fighting games... But I'd rather figure this out without investing in an asset-store package (no offence, I hear it's good... But I would like to learn how to do this. That and I'm not exactly able to buy it anyway since I'm on a very tight budget.)

So, TLDR: Fighting game... Frame-rate control... Synchronization... What direction do I need to look in order to make something like this?

EDIT: Oh, and one last thing... Will this method play nicely with the fixedUpdate (so as to keep the things that fixedUpdate handles isolated from the restricted/locked framerate from this method?)

2. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

Application.targetFrameRate is probably what you are interested in.

Unity in general doesn't play well with trying to run at a precise frame rate. There are a bunch of work arounds, but its not fun.

3. lordofduct

lordofduct

First, read the docs on Application.targetFrameRate completely, to get an idea of the technicalities.

http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Application-targetFrameRate.html