Search Unity

Question Tagging Hybrid Objects (Colliders/Triggers) and Collision Filters

Discussion in 'Physics for ECS' started by jashan, Aug 20, 2020.

1. jashan

jashan

I'm still fairly new to DOTS and Unity Physics and have one type of object that needs to exist both in the "old GameObject/MonoBehaviour world" as well as the "new DOTS world". I have already managed to make the entity follow the GameObject-position by adding CopyTransformFromGameObject in IConvertGameObjectToEntity.Convert(...).

What I'm trying to figure out now is how to best assign the Collision Filters for the DOTS-trigger. Obviously, I can't assign it from the old-school Collider component. So, should I add PhysicsShape-components, basically duplicating the old-school Colliders but adding the Collision Filters? If so, is the system smart enough to then ignore the old-school Colliders completely in the DOTS-world?

Or would I have to create my own authoring components for that purpose, that set up the Collision Filters during conversion?

Or is there already some component that is designed for this specific purpose?

The PhysicsCollider data-component doesn't give me much information in the entity debugger (it just looks like a tag, without any properties), so I'm not sure how to best test this. Also, PhysicsDebugDisplay doesn't seem to work for me.

(I'm on Unity 2019.4.8, Entities 0.11.1, Unity Physics 0.4.1)

2. petarmHavok

petarmHavok

So the old-school collider's filter is actually passed on to the PhysicsCollider that gets attached to the entity that gets created for you. There is a legacy collider conversion code in place to make sure even these colliders can be used for new DOTS physics. Now there are limitations in terms of features, but collision filtering is supported. It basically maps the layer of the game object to a category in the collision filter. You can check BaseLegacyColliderConversionSystem.ProduceCollisionFilter for how it actually works.

jashan likes this.