Search Unity

Tactics Style RPG: Help & Suggestions

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by PapaQuackers, Feb 24, 2018.

1. PapaQuackers

PapaQuackers

Hello Everyone,

I'm relatively new to game Development, I've taken a few courses in C# and read some textbooks and been generally messing around with Unity for a few months.

That being said, I'm trying my hand at making something in the same vein as Final Fantasy Tactics and Tactics Ogre. That grid based top-down isometric RPG style.

I've found some tutorials, but for the most part they seem to be out dated and deprecated. The one I was going off got as far as getting through map generation and unit movement (and it was a little confusing to say the least).

I was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of further tutorials in this vein or resources I can use.

So far I'll still need to implement some other things:

1. Some kind of Dynamic UI system that can adapt to some information input.
    2. Combat System (Though I think I have a decent idea on where to go with this from what I've learned so far)
    3. A job system (completely lose here, to be honest)
    4. Item and equipment menu
    5. Enemy AI

Can anyone help me out?

upload_2018-2-24_18-22-14.png

Attached Files:

2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

Your questions are less about design and more about implementation so - really isn't related to this thread. However -
    1. Consider breaking down your list into smaller understandable tasks. So for UI first make one interactable button, then make the button change based on a condition. Then extend.
    4. This is vague and needs more explanation - and probably isn't aligned with the design forum.
    5. Nav mesh & assets from the store. Personal preference Behavior Designer.

3. Devastadus

Devastadus

4. Doug_B

Doug_B

Hi PapaQuackers,