Search Unity

Tactical Shooter AI - Asset Store Pack

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by squared55, Mar 2, 2015.

  1. BrandSpankingNew

    BrandSpankingNew

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Posts:
    220
    I'm sorry if this has been asked and answered, but these Unity forums are difficult to search effectively. I suppose I should say, "for me".

    My questions:

    Is the documentation for your product available online? If yes, would you please provide a link so that I can take a look and determine if this is something that I will be able to fathom. Thanks.

    Also, will compatibility exist for versions of UFPS other than the most current release? If no, could you comment upon the changes that might be required to bring a slightly older version into compliance. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2015
    squared55 and Axid02 like this.
  2. Axid02

    Axid02

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    I second BrandSpankingNew, online documentation given ahead of time would help a lot to get up to speed while the asset goes through publishing.
     
    squared55 likes this.
  3. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    Apparently, it will take ~5 business days.

    Documentation link: <Broken Link>

    Paragon AI is not out-of-the-box compatable with older versions of UFPS; the damage system received a large update in 1.5.1. The old UFPS bullets use SendMessageUpwards, which results in a shot to the foot doing damage once for the foot, once for the lower leg, and once for the body. 1.5.1 supports hitboxes. I also had to modify the Paragon AI bullets to make them damage the UFPS player.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2017
    Axid02 likes this.
  4. BrandSpankingNew

    BrandSpankingNew

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Posts:
    220

    Well, that's okay then. Thank you very much for the prompt reply! I look forward, with great anticipation, to studying your docs and trying to fall in love with your product. Best wishes and good luck in your efforts.
     
    squared55 likes this.
  5. HR0THVITNIR

    HR0THVITNIR

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    24
    Will this work out-of-the-box with ufps multiplayer, and if not, is that planned for the future? Didn't see anything in the docs.
     
  6. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    There is currently no multiplayer support in Paragon AI.
     
  7. Pauloxande

    Pauloxande

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Posts:
    106
    When will it be available? already appears PARAGON AI, will show a link to update course. you guys plan to put multiplayer?
    This currently only works with AI SHOOTER, or can become the multiplayer of you
     

    Attached Files:

  8. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,099
    Any way we can grab this upgrade from outside the Unity Store, if its going to take longer?
     
  9. Pauloxande

    Pauloxande

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Posts:
    106
    Yes I wish the update do as friend
     
  10. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    We simply changed the name of the asset store profile. Paragon AI is not out yet.
     
  11. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,099
    Hi, its in the asset store now, but no upgrade option.
     
    squared55 likes this.
  12. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,815
  13. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    Just found out. Working on the upgrade stuff now.
     
  14. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    Upgrade should be up. If anyone can confirm that it works, that'd be great. :)
     
    julianr likes this.
  15. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,815
    Yup, I see the upgrade price! Looks like a good one, too. :)
     
    squared55 likes this.
  16. John-G

    John-G

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,107
    Upgrade option is there now for $7.50.
    Just upgraded :D
     
    squared55 likes this.
  17. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    I came pretty close to forgetting the decimal point, lol.

    Thanks for upgrading! Now, to get rid of those old Shooter AI reviews...
     
    julianr likes this.
  18. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,099
    Upgraded! Can't wait to add it. Thanks for the upgrade price. btw
     
    squared55 likes this.
  19. RoyalAllen

    RoyalAllen

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Posts:
    95
    So how long will it be at that price for those upgrading?
     
    squared55 likes this.
  20. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    [Update]: The upgrade option is no longer on the store page, but if you have Shooter AI and would like a copy of TSAI, send me a PM with your Shooter AI invoice #, and I'll see what I can do. :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2017
  21. 99thmonkey

    99thmonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    520
    I look forward to checking it out at some point
     
    squared55 likes this.
  22. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    Glad to hear it!
     
  23. Tinjaw

    Tinjaw

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Posts:
    518
    Thanks for the update price. Now I can get started adding my AI-controlled bad guys.
     
    squared55 likes this.
  24. GenOli

    GenOli

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Posts:
    133
    Now it's $10, might only be $2.50 more but I still feel shanked after Shooter AI.

    I guess by tomorrow it will be $15 :rolleyes:
     
  25. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    It was actually going to be $10 originally, but I changed it at the last second. I have no plans at the moment to raise it any further.

    I don't follow. :)
     
  26. mkgm

    mkgm

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Posts:
    134
  27. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,099
    Its good of Paragon AI to provide us with an alternative solution, not only do we not have to pay the full price, we get to upgrade, downside to this is that people may think its the same developer as the reviews have tagged along after changing the product and removing the old Shooter AI from the store in order to provide this upgrade. I agree that Shooter AI should have at least finished v3.0 as there were plenty of flaws in v2.0 that could have been fixed when they decided to re-write most of it. Hopefully we'll see the v3.0 version at some point. But until then we have a workable and from what I've seen a more than good solution for combat with Paragon Shooter AI.
     
  28. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    I'm currently trying to deal with the reviews issue. You may see the upgrade price vanish for a while.
     
    daisySa and julianr like this.
  29. GenOli

    GenOli

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Posts:
    133
    I just read the review about this being done by different devs so I take back what I said.
     
    squared55 likes this.
  30. Superjayjay

    Superjayjay

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    I really hope you can get the reviews off because it's absolutely unfair that two year old 2 and 3 star reviews of an entirely different product can mess with your just released asset's average rating. :(
     
    squared55 likes this.
  31. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    The Asset Store team is currently being... unhelpful. That said, you guys could help by marking unhelpful reviews, well, unhelpful. :)

    Hopefully if enough of the old reviews are marked unhelpful, they'll be bumped off the front page by newer ones.
     
  32. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,099
    I'll be posting my review over the weekend, hope to have tested it fully by then.
     
    squared55 likes this.
  33. reddo1987

    reddo1987

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    Hi,
    I'm triying to use the Paragon AI with the UFPS plugin but I have some problems.
    I included in the scene the "Advanced Player" of the UFPS plugin and, with the TargetScript, a team shoots against me now.
    The problem is that their bullets don't damage myself. I don't know how to check the layermasks.
    Can you explain how to setup the player to work like the scene you linked in the first page?

    PS: I used the last version of both Paragon Shooter AI and UFPS(1.5.1).

    Sorry for my english.
     
    squared55 likes this.
  34. IrishDev

    IrishDev

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    46
    @reddo1987
    Try the following:
    Paragon AI>Paragon AI Prefabs>Bullets>Bullet_SMG -> On the Bullet Script the third parameter is Layer Mask. LocalPlayer or the layer that your player is on needs to be added here
     
    squared55 likes this.
  35. IrishDev

    IrishDev

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    46
    Hi Square55

    Unfortunately I am having issues with UFPS (1.5.1) integration as well.

    Currently the AI can search, find, attack and kill the player but the player cannot shoot the Ai characters.
    • AI Controller was created in the scene. Created an empty Game Object and added the ControllerScript.
    • Generated the navmesh
    • On the UFPS bullet prefabs set Require Damage Handler to OFF (un-ticked)
    • Paragon AI TargetScript was added to the HeroHDWeapons object
    • Layermasks for the ParagonAI bullets includes the same physics layer that the player is on.

    I am probably omitting something small but could you please let me know if I missed a step?
     
    squared55 likes this.
  36. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    I believe IrishDev has the correct solution. The Layer Mask variable of the Paragon AI bullets must include that of the player's.


    Can you confirm that your bullet's "vp_Hitscan Bullet" looks like this? I'm specifically looking at the Damage Method Name.



    Also, for testing purposes I would recommend ramping up the damage to something ridiculous like 9000. That way, if it does damage, you'll know for sure.

    If you still have a problem, can you tell me whether the bullets either

    A) Stop at the player, but cause no damage, or
    B) Go right through player?
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2015
  37. reddo1987

    reddo1987

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    Thank you very much it works now!
     
    squared55 likes this.
  38. reddo1987

    reddo1987

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    32
     
    squared55 likes this.
  39. IrishDev

    IrishDev

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    46
    Thanks Squared55,
    I will check this out as soon as I am back at my desk
     
    squared55 likes this.
  40. thendricks

    thendricks

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Posts:
    44
    3 questions:
    1) Is/can the package be optimized for mobile?
    2) Does the package work with mecanim?
    3) Does it come with an IK solution or will we have to build one ourselves?
     
    squared55 likes this.
  41. wendymorrison

    wendymorrison

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    224
    Hi i was wondering how would you implement a zombie AI. A tutorial would be good if that's possible.
     
    squared55 likes this.
  42. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    I have never tested it on a mobile platform. Perhaps someone else has?

    The package works with mecanim

    Paragon AI does not require IK. The way it works is that you make an upper-body aiming animation in your animation software. Paragon AI will then rotate one of the spine bones (which one us up to you) so that the entire pre-made upper body animation rotates to point the barrel of the gun at the target.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2015
  43. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    It should boil down to simply not assigning the AI a weapon in the creation wizard and ensuring the "canMelee" variable in the BaseScript is true. Also, you'll need to make sure you've done the melee set-up, otherwise the player won't be damaged.

    I'll look into making a tutorial.
     
    julianr likes this.
  44. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,099
    What's different about the AI's behaviour from Ranged to Melee, do they still take cover and hide, do they run up to the player, or do they wait for the player to arrive?
     
    squared55 likes this.
  45. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    There is none aside from the fact that they won't shoot. So you could have a melee or shooter enemy that:

    -Blindly charges at the player
    -Charges at the player but strafes every now and then
    -Moves towards the player, taking cover on the way
    -Randomly runs around to different prices of cover.
    -Executes a custom behavior.
     
    julianr likes this.
  46. kilju

    kilju

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Posts:
    124
    hi just bought ur asset and tryed to work with it. i got problem because im using floating point origin and it will move my terrains to diffrent spot on runtime. and when i try to make navmrsh it stays in wrong spot. any idea how to solve this?

    thanks

    -Toni
     
  47. IrishDev

    IrishDev

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    46
    Thanks Squared55
    The settings on the vp_Hitscan Bullet script were fine.
    The problem was that the damage was way to low.
    The prefab AI agents have a health of 40 and the player was only doing to 1 damage per hit.

    Currently all the AI works great.
    Still need to try setting up proper cover and setting a AI agent from scratch.
     
    squared55 likes this.
  48. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    Unfortnately, I'm not aware of any way to move an entire navmesh. The only solution I can think of is to shrink down the scale of the game so no FPO is necessary.
     
  49. kilju

    kilju

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Posts:
    124
    i found out that rain ai can make dynamic navmesh :D so next question: can paragon shooter ai use navmesh generated by rain ai?

    -Toni
     
  50. squared55

    squared55

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Posts:
    1,819
    Unfortunately, Paragon doesn't have out-of-the box support for other pathfinding solutions.