Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

tactic server will need simplified map

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by luiner, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. luiner

    luiner

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Posts:
    60
    Hello!
    Recently I moved to unity technology, and I like to know if any of you have idea how to solve my technical problem.
    Idea is that it will be tactic(with squares like in chess) game, but if you prepare map/terrain with irregular obstacles or just accesable height differences. Because I prepare seperated c# server for it, I will have to inform server aboit map. and as long as accesable heights I can just ignore I will need to plan which squares have inaccesable obstacles or heights.
    In my previous engine map were prepared by external editor which is at the moment completly not compatible.
    Any idea?

    Thanx for any help
     
  2. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    Write an editor plugin that generates you these data again or even a build step script that executes editor scripts to do so automagically.
     
  3. luiner

    luiner

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Posts:
    60
    hmm... sounds fine. Any pointers in code/options which could be usefull? As I said I'm new here, and learning new enviroment takes always a while.

    Following your idea I will need to prepare plugin which will allow me to create grid and plan height for each terain-segment separately, also add there objects and export it to external file...

    Yeach, thanx for tip.
     
  4. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    no need for a plugin
    Just a JS / C# scripts that uses System.IO to store it out for example.

    As for pointers: Check out the "Editor Classes" part in the script reference
     
  5. luiner

    luiner

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Posts:
    60
    Thanx, that exacely what i need
    5 star for help :)
    I will set up new topic if I will get any other obstacle, but it liiks strait forward now x)

    Cheers and thx again
     
  6. luiner

    luiner

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Posts:
    60
    There is no such thing like System.IO -.- or it is hidden well