Search Unity

System.Threading.Tasks.Task not found

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by dfl_unity, Jan 8, 2020.

1. dfl_unity

dfl_unity

Hi all,

I'm new to Unity, trying to write a managed DLL that will host my game's various services (comm, io etc). Using windows 10 with the latest .net.
    When I try to use asynchronous constructs, specifically as async/await and Tasks, I get errors. Async/await causes unity to notify me that the DLL is broken and is unloaded, which subsequently makes the symbols from the DLL invisible to the game scripts, despite being available in the assets folder and in the references section of the unity VS project.
    When I use Tasks (from system.threading.Tasks), the code compiles and the unity scripts see my public symbols, but I get a runtime error that System.Threading.Tasks.Task was not found. If I use the same Tasks code *inside* the unity VS project, it works well.

For now I've resorted to the Threads .net api, which does what I want and works well in this setup. However, I would prefer the convenience of async/await and Tasks.

I suspect that I need to use some special libs for these async constructs, but no search that I've run produced clear answers. Any help will be appreciated.

2. olejuer

olejuer

Hi,

can you try to set the API compatability level to .NET 4.x under "Edit/Project Settings/Player/Other Settings"? Can you check if your dll is imported targeting .NET 4.x? If you select the dll in Unity, the inspector should show that information.

3. dfl_unity

dfl_unity

Thanks for the quick reply.
    The DLL's inspector says that the DLL targets .NET 4.x.
    In the project itself, the target framework is .net core 3.1.
    Another project with the same settings is imported with no problem (but doesn't reference System.Threading.Tasks).

4. olejuer

olejuer

Yeah, I think async await is only supported in .net 4.x

5. olejuer

olejuer