Search Unity

Audio Synthesize - Unity modular synth

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by _MGB_, Jul 19, 2018.

1. _MGB_

_MGB_

Hey all,

I was designing a game that needed procedural audio, but got somewhat carried away and ended up designing a modular synth instead of the game ;)

(please excuse my noob vid - it's my first time :eek:)

It uses OnAudioFilterRead and is totally interactive at runtime for procedural audio, music or sfx.
    Is something like this of interest to many people here?

Features (so far):
    - It's effectively a modular synth in Unity to program for your game!
    - Create unique ever-changing interactive audio for virtually zero space cost.
    - Ideal for procedural generation.
    - Totally flexible signal & modulation routing.
    - Sample manipulation, including freq & modulation.
    - Numerous generators, fx & util modules.
    - Extendible/custom nodes.
    - Runtime creation and modification of graphs.

Cheers!

Last edited: Jul 20, 2018
  2. Marald

Marald

HI _MGB_, this is looking really nice!

Are you creating an unity assetstore package? I like the xNode integration. Can you share the audio DSP / Audio CPU footprint of running the modular synth?

Keep up the good work!

3. Docaroo

Docaroo

Incredibly interesting! I'd love to look at the code for that work!! Nicely done!

4. _MGB_

_MGB_

Cheers people!

@Marald I'll probably look at doing an asset if there's much interest -- not sure how well OnAudioFilterRead is supported platform-wise (I know Android support is patchy!)

According to the stats window the synth in the video takes 10-15% dsp load (windows, oldish i7 cpu).
    The DSP load figure is rather flaky though - it changes by as much as 100% depending on which gameObject is selected in the hierarchy?! Have tried to contact Unity for some help with that but no joy.