Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Sync high number of game objects transforms , is that possible?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by elseforty, Jan 8, 2019.

1. elseforty

elseforty

hi,
    i want to build a multiplayer version of this prototype game shown in the video, i'm wondering if it is possible to sync a high number of game objects transforms , around 150 ,
    i have no multiplayer experience, so please excuse me if the question is a stupid,

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Using something like Unet's NetworkTransform wouldn't be very efficient for something like this. I'd probably write something custom for sending the updates for all 150 objects in just a handful of messages.

elseforty likes this.
  3. elseforty

elseforty

Hi joe
    thanx for the reply,
    can you give me more info about how i will approach this ,
    i thinking of writing the rotation and translation data of all gameObjects in a file in json format
    send that file to a server, the clients take that file and parse the data and pass them to the 150 game objects
    is this correct approach?

4. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Well it looks like the motion of the objects in your video is fairly fast and you'd need to update your other clients quickly and often (several times per second for every object I'm guessing). Using a text format like json is about the least efficient means of encoding the data sent over the network.