Search Unity

Switching Between Characters

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by unity_0D3xqHrJWNie6Q, Sep 26, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. unity_0D3xqHrJWNie6Q

unity_0D3xqHrJWNie6Q

I am new to unity and wanted to make a 2D game. I want to be able to switch between different characters. I was wondering is there a way to do this in unity if so how. I also have Playmaker installed. can someone help me, please.

2. AndersMalmgren

AndersMalmgren

It depends on your design. If its flexible enough you can do it easy.

3. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla

You are going to need to provide a lot more details. Yes this completely possible and common, but without the specifics of your game, and what you have tried, it will be impossible to accurately answer your question.

4. Ryiah

Ryiah

I highly recommend you start by going through the official tutorials if you haven't already because frankly you need to know the info they teach to get anywhere with Unity and based on your post I'm guessing you have little to no previous scripting experience let alone game development experience.

We can try to help you but you're just going to get stuck again with the next step of your game if you don't learn the tools.

Bill_Martini likes this.
  5. unity_0D3xqHrJWNie6Q

unity_0D3xqHrJWNie6Q

Ok i have used unity before, but not on a 2D game. I want to have 3 main character that when you hit specific key you change into them. Each Character has different abilities. For example, one character has an extra jump, one can swim in water, one can walk on fire. I want to switch between them. Kind of like game with: Trine, Party Of Sin, Lego series.

6. AndersMalmgren

AndersMalmgren

You just need some clever abstraction. I often see people do