Search Unity

Switch from SteamVR to XR

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by ianfrank, Jul 11, 2020.

1. ianfrank

ianfrank

Hi there!

I need a bit of advice. I'm a Unity beginner, and i started developing a small VR game a few years ago in 2017, then took a break until now. I managed to upgrade the project to Unity 2019, though i've forgotten a lot of how Unity works. I have a Windows Mixed Reality headset, and back then i used SteamVR to get things running.

There is a small demo of the game here if you're interested :

Now i see that Unity recommends that i use XR plugins instead of Mixed Reality Toolkit, and perhaps also instead of SteamVR, i am not sure.

What would you guys recommend? Finish the game with SteamVR, try to use Mixed Reality Toolkit instead, or switch to the new XR stuff? Or perhaps even start over and recreate the whole thing. I need to learn Unity all over again anyways, since i have forgotten almost everything. =)

Thanks in advance! :)

2. FlightOfOne

FlightOfOne

There's some learning and work involved upfront but I highly recommend you switch to the new XR stuff and save yourself future headache. In fact this is exactly what I am doing now (XR management + new input system). New XR is much cleaner and so much easier to troubleshoot.

I'd use the XR management +WMR XR plugin. Just do some testing on an empty project, get a hang of it.

3. ianfrank

ianfrank

Wow, i totally missed your reply - thank you!! I got sidetracked back in July, but am now starting to convert my project to 2019.5 and using the new XR. Fingers crossed! :)

4. MDADigital

MDADigital

I might we wrong, but I think you cant use all SteamVR 2.0 binding stuff with XR vanilla. You need the steam plugin for this.

5. FlightOfOne

FlightOfOne

The other way around. The new input system does not work with Valve devices yet. They are working on this at the moment.