Search Unity

Switch between 2 lanes smoothly.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by HariprasadA, Nov 14, 2017.

1. HariprasadA

HariprasadA

This is my code to switch my player (who is a cube for the time being) between 2 lanes. However it creates a teleport kind of effect. Can someone help me out in smoothing the motion. I am a beginner so it would be kind if you could explain it a bit.

Code-

using System.Collections;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using UnityEngine;

public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour {
    public float movedist=150;
    public float moveforce=300;
    private int playerpos = 1;
    private Rigidbody rb;
    public float switchspeed=300f;

void Start()
    {
    rb = GetComponent<Rigidbody> ();

}
    void FixedUpdate()
    {
    rb.AddForce (moveforce * Time.deltaTime, 0, 0);
    }
    void Update ()
    {
    if (Input.GetMouseButtonDown (0)) {
    if (playerpos < 2) {
    Vector3 pos = transform.position;
    Vector3 switch1 = new Vector3 (transform.position.x, transform.position.y, movedist);
    transform.position = Vector3.Lerp (pos, switch1, switchspeed);
    playerpos++;
    } else if (playerpos > 0) {
    Vector3 pos = transform.position;
    Vector3 switch2 = new Vector3 (transform.position.x, transform.position.y, 0);
    transform.position = Vector3.Lerp (pos, switch2, switchspeed);
    playerpos–;
    }
    }
    }
    }

Thanks.

2. whileBreak

whileBreak

You are having an error in how you use Vector3.Lerp(). It only takes values from 0 to 1 on the third parameter. Right now you are sending a 300, so it snaps to 1 and it teleports to the switch1 position with no transition. So what you want to do is a little math.

Instead of using the speed of the transition, when you use Lerp you should use the time the transition will take. And then you need to divide the time that has passed since the last frame (Time.deltaTime) by the time you want it to take. So it will look like this.

Code (CSharp):