Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question SwiftUI and Unity as Library

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by Artpen, Dec 16, 2020.

1. Artpen

Artpen

Hi Guys,

I am new to native iOS development. Just starting with Swift UI. After lots of failed attempts to create beautiful UI in Unity I stumbled upon Swift UI and Unity as a library.

From Unity talk and some online resources it looks straight forward. Unfortunately all example are very old from Unity 5 times.

Does anyone has some up to date information how to integrate Swift UI and Unity 2019/2020?
    If someone can give me an example how to integrate a simple spinning cube it will be more than enough to get me started.

Thank you for help.

2. x2stone

x2stone

Hi, I'm looking for the same thing, did you find a way to do it ?
    Please let me know if you succeed, and I will do the same if I find something working.

3. Artpen

Artpen

No unfortunately no. There are lots of information, but it is outdated or not working.

4. Neonlyte

Neonlyte

I have not tried doing this myself, all the following information are deducted through a typical iOS framework integration workflow, but I hope the information could give you some lead.

Since UaaL is a new thing since 2019.3 (I assume you know this), it has to be one of the versions newer in order to first build a unity framework for embedding into your main app.

Once you exported the Xcode project from Unity, build the framework by selecting the UnityFramework scheme in Xcode (top left corner) and select Any iOS Device to make sure building all the supported archs.

upload_2021-1-8_13-46-36.png