Search Unity

Sweep Tests vs.MeshColliders - the horror.

Discussion in 'Physics' started by Bezzy, Jul 14, 2016.

1. Bezzy

Bezzy

Hi. I just wanted to start this thread as a discussion of what's up with sweep tests?

I've been using unity for 8 years, and in all that time I've found Physics.SphereCast, Physics.CapsuleCast, and rigidbody.SweepTest are all pretty untrustworthy, or a huge amount of work to use. I'm not quite pulling my hair out just yet, but I'm certainly in the mood to write one of those forum posts where you end up hitting backspace a lot to remove the complainey tone.

I'm finding that they're
    a)very work intensive - I have to keep making work-arounds for floating point inaccuracy

Try this with a convex meshcollider and a rigidbody, testing against a concave mesh collider:

public Vector3 dir;

void FixedUpdate()
    {
    RaycastHit info;
    if(rigidbody.SweepTest(dir, out info, distance))//do a sweep test in some direction.
    {

rigidbody.position = rigidbody.position + dir*info.distance;//update rigidbody position so we can trace again from the end of the trace
    if(rigidbody.SweepTest(dir, out info, distance))//do a sweep test in the same direction, from the point at which the last trace ended
    {
    Vector3 secondTraceEndPoint = rigidbody.position + dir*info.distance; //this SHOULD

//check if the vectors are the not same - they totally ought to be!
    if((secondTraceEndPoint - rigidbody.position).magnitude > float.Epsilon)
    {
    Debug.LogError("Followup swept trace went through the object, despite it casting from the end position returned by the initial trace");​
    }​
    }​
    }​
    }​
    The solution to this is to place the rigidbody.position for the subsequent trace a little bit back from the surface hit, either using the info.normal, or the initial trace dir.