Search Unity

Swaping mesh (or prefab) with AIThirdPersonController

Discussion in 'Animation' started by DavidDraeyer, Mar 25, 2020.

1. DavidDraeyer

DavidDraeyer

Hi,

I'm new in unity, and I didn't find my answer in this forum or using Google. Perhaps I don't have the good keywords...

I'm animating a character controled by the computer with the AIThirdPersonController of Standart Assets. I did replace Ethan by a prefab from Little Heroes Megapack, and everything is working fine.

Now I would like the character to transform into another character. I did try to remove the prefab from the AIThirdPersonController, and load a new one, from the Little Heroes Magapack too.

Code (CSharp):
    1. // Just to get some information of the animator component... unusefull for now...
    2. Animator anim = GetComponent<Animator>();
    3. Debug.Log(anim.avatar.ToString());
    5. // Instentiation of the new prefab  
    6. GameObject perso = Instantiate(avatar, transform.position, avatar.transform.rotation);
    8. // Prefab to remove
    9. var old= transform.GetChild(0).gameObject;
    11. // Copy properties
    12. perso.transform.parent = old.transform.parent;
    13. perso.transform.localPosition = old.transform.localPosition;
    14. perso.transform.localRotation = old.transform.localRotation;
    15. perso.transform.localScale = old.transform.localScale;
    16. // Place in the same place        perso.transform.SetSiblingIndex(old.transform.GetSiblingIndex());
    18. // Destroy and rename to be exactly the same
    19. var temp = old.name;
    20. DestroyImmediate(old);
    21. perso.name = temp;
    The new one is effectively loaded, but not animated. Everything seems to be the same, but a connection is probably missing.

How can I do that, or where can I find documentation? I tried documentation of the animator component, but It doesn't seems to be there...

Thanks!

David

2. DavidDraeyer

DavidDraeyer