Search Unity

Question Swap Tiles On Run Time

Discussion in '2D' started by quakemisterius, Nov 30, 2022.

1. quakemisterius

quakemisterius

Greetings everyone!
    Like many before me, I am new to the unity and I need your help. Please consider that I do not have much experience with unity.
    So basically I am making a seasonal game where for each season a tile must change. I have 4 sprite sheets for each season and each slice of the spirte sheet is exactly in the same position on all 4 sheets.
    I found that tilemap has the function TileSwap() which in theory does all I need. There are just some slight problems.
    Mainly, this function requires me to pass a tileA and tileB through out the inspector. The problem is I have around 200 tiles, and it does not seem like the best way to do it. Making a list in inspector and manually assign each tile isn't really the best solution.
    I would prefer to access a tiles through the code and basically loop each of them with TileSwap. Problem is that I do not know how to get those tiles like in the inspector.
    So I looked into documentation again and found GetUsedTilesCount() which tells me how many unique tiles I have placed in the layer. That function works great and gives me the right amount. However, I still do not have reference to those tiles. Someone suggested to use GetTilesBlock(area) to receive a tiles in an area.
    It kinda works, it returns me a TileBase list but how do I access tile from it ?
    It returns me a:
    "summer tilemap_8 (UnityEngine.Tilemaps.Tile)
    UnityEngine.MonoBehaviour:print (object)
    TileMapSeasons:Start () (at Assets/TileMapSeasons.cs:28)"

When I looked into TileBase there is a function GetTileData but it requires a position of tile which is unknown for me.

What would be the best solution to solve the problem ? Are they any alternatives ?