Search Unity

Question Surface Shader with Custom Lighting Function Doesn't Receive Shadows

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by CThayer, Apr 16, 2021.

1. CThayer

CThayer

Hello Everyone,

I have been working on a surface shader with a custom lighting function but I'm fairly new to writing complex shaders so I am really stuck on a few things. In particular, I can't seem to get the shader to receive shadows correctly and I have tried everything that I found via Google but nothing has worked. A couple notes first:

1. I am using a custom lighting function.
    2. I am using a custom SurfaceOutput struct but it contains all of the standard SurfaceOutput struct fields. I just added a few new ones that I needed.
    2. I have included: #pragma surface surf Diffraction fullforwardshadows
    (where Diffraction corresponds to the LightingDiffraction() function)
    3. I have also tried including addshadow on that line
    4. I have tried using the tags:
    "LightMode" = "ForwardAdd" and "LightMode" = "ForwardBase"

But, so far, no luck. Is there something that I have to call in my lighting function to get the shadows to work? Or is there something else entirely that I am missing?

I didn't include all of my code because it is kind of long and a bit of a mess at the moment due to it being very much a WIP. However, I totally understand that you might need to see it to be able to help, so I can post snippets or the whole thing if that is actually helpful.

Thanks!

2. bgolus

bgolus

Can you post it here in the forums? Or preferably the entire shader?

fullforwardshadows
    only enables shadow receiving for point lights, assuming your custom lighting function works with shadows to begin with.

Adds a generated shadow caster pass. Usually not needed.

Those are for specific shader passes, which a Surface Shader generates automatically. Those tags don't have any effect when used at the
    SubShader
    level, and are overridden by the generated passes anyway.