Search Unity

Support for Sprite Renderer in GameObject -> Entity conversion?

Discussion in 'Graphics for ECS' started by Gestalt_, Oct 6, 2019.

1. Gestalt_

Gestalt_

Hi all,

Apologies if this has been answered before - I've seen several mentions of it in some older threads, but all answers to it have been fairly old. Do we have an ETA on when DOTS will support converting the Sprite Renderer Unity component, specifically for MonoBehaviours that implement IConvertGameObjectToEntity?

I've been trying to think of workarounds for this in the meantime, but they all seem to have significant downsides. (Please let me know if I'm wrong here; I've been programming for a while but I'm very new to Unity / C#):

1. Use a Mesh Renderer / Filter instead (This approach seems to lose the advantage of what you get from Sprite Renderer, such as animation flows)
    2. Abandon the idea of using "Convert and Destroy" on my GameObjects' conversion to entities, and use "Convert and inject GameObject" approach. This lets me keep my Sprite Renderer. Then build my own component to house the GameObject, and write a custom system to remove those GameObjects in tandem with when the Entities are removed. (This seems to be a heavy-handed solution, and since I'm new to Unity, I'm finding it hard to figure out - Seems like the Destroy() method is located in MonoBehaviour, so writing a DOTS system for removal seems counter intuitive / makes everything confusing if done poorly)
    3. A different ECS-based GameObject removal pattern that's not as confusing as #2
    4. ???