Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.2 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Curious about what's going to be in 2021.1? Have a look at the 2021.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Want to see 2021.1b in action? Sign up for our 2021.1 Beta Webinar on February 25 for a live presentation and a Q&A session with guests from R&D.
    Dismiss Notice

Support Asset Store packges (My Assets) in Package Manager UI

Discussion in '2019.3 Beta' started by bdovaz, Jul 4, 2019.

  1. bdovaz

    bdovaz

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Posts:
    824
    New feature
    • Package Manager: Support Asset Store packges (My Assets) in Package Manager UI
    https://unity3d.com/unity/alpha/2019.3.0a8

    I'm testing it but UI it's unresponsive if you have very huge list (our case).

    If this UI it's built using UIElements you should seriously make performance tests of Scroll Views with 100+ elements.
     
    RogDolos and JoNax97 like this.
  2. erick_unity

    erick_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    Hi @N3uRo, paging is already addressed, and will be available publicly in 2019.3.0a10
     
  3. bdovaz

    bdovaz

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Posts:
    824
    As I understand you are workarounding a performance issue.

    There will be some point when someone would want a virtualized scroll and as I understand there isn't one.
     
  4. Griz

    Griz

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Posts:
    129
    It would be nice to have an additional option, which has to be ticked to show assets that are deprecated, which could work in a similar fashion to the show preview packages.



    I mean, 99% of the time, when I'm wanting to import new assets, I'm interested only in the ones that are not deprecated.
     
  5. erick_unity

    erick_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    Filters similar to the ones available on the asset store website are being evaluated for 2020.1 at the moment, @Griz
     
    Lars-Steenhoff, RogDolos and Griz like this.
  6. Griz

    Griz

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Posts:
    129
    That's some great news, looking forward to it.
     
  7. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,896
    And what about icons? for the packages ( thumbnails )
     
  8. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,896
    And I don't care about paging, just give me a long list that I can scroll trough.
    Paging cost a lot of time for the user, because you never know on what page the asset you need is.
     
  9. Gooren

    Gooren

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Posts:
    241
    Love the feature, but there is one huge issue for us. We own lots of assets. And I mean LOTS of assets. Yet there is no "show installed assets only" filter option... this makes it absolutely impossible to make sure we have all assets updated for example.
     
    RogDolos and Lars-Steenhoff like this.
  10. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,896
    Yes, and there is also no way to tag them inside unity, only on the website.
     
    Gooren likes this.
  11. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    5,480
    I just tested this and navigating my asset list is very tedious, as you have to click "Load more" to reveal more and more of your assets.

    The current workflow to find what assets I have picked up is:
    • Open Package Manager
    • Select "Assets" from drop-down
    • Scroll down list
    • Click "Load more"
    • Unity freezes for 5 sec
    • Scroll down list
    • Click "Load more"
    • Unity freezes for 5 sec
    • Scroll down list
    • Click "Load more"
    • Unity freezes for 5 sec
    • Scroll down list
    • Click "Load more"
    • Unity freezes for 5 sec
    ... the list is sorted alphabetically and after doing these steps and having to wait 20s in total, I would probably still be at "A" or "B".

    While downloading the next "load more" entries, it also causes Unity to freeze during this time.

    Can't you add a button/option to load the entire dictionary at once? It's just text that usually compresses really well. Even if someone has 10000 assets in their list, that shouldn't take too long to query/download.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2020
    spoutnix, mgmhunt, transat and 7 others like this.
  12. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,896
    ^ Agreed!
     
    Gooren and Peter77 like this.
  13. SinDeSiecle

    SinDeSiecle

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    53
    OMG! Who in the world breaks what is just working previously in the name of getting better? I have urgently to upgrade one of my assets related to a problem I am experiencing to see if it solves the problem, and I can not. I am loosing time! One more reason to leave unity. Unfortunately, I am close to release with this project, and started to think to migrate despite that.
     
  14. Gooren

    Gooren

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Posts:
    241
    Don't. Engine migration almost always kills the project.
    Also - don't think that there is any engine out there, any engine whatsoever, that will not waste your time with stupid BS. Every engine has it's own BS.
    Not trying to be pesky or what not, just trying to save you from huge time waste that is engine switch.
     
unityunity