Search Unity

Suggestions for Unity3D Terrain Tech

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chadchat, Oct 6, 2011.

1. chadchat

chadchat

While using Unity3D as a Terrain Editor over the past 3 years I've collected some thoughts on how the workflow could be improved. It's just basic stuff, nothing too elaborate. I like using unity3D a lot, and some aspects of the Terrain tech are very flexible and good, however it's a forgotten corner of the engine that really needs some attention.

I work as an Environment Artist in the games industry, and have also taught landscape creation courses at several Universities using Unity3D, so I have some experience in this area.

I know some of these things have been mentioned in other threads, but I wanted to throw down what I had (I sent a version of this to Aras P almost a year ago after meeting with him at Unite10 to discuss Terrains, but never heard anything of it). I haven't mentioned things like normal/spec Terrain shaders because I'm guessing we'll see them in 3.5. But who knows..!?

Also I see that some of these ideas are addressed in the new Terrain Mapper plugin, which is great to see, though honestly the type of things I'm mentioning here should be standard with Unity3D, especially if there is a triple AAA push~

Flatten Brush:
    In my opinion the main thing missing here is a Flatten Brush. The sculpting potential afforded by heightmaps is limited of course being constrained to the vertical axis, however a Flatten Brush caters for a surprising degree of sculpting possibilities, and works hand in hand with a standard raise-lower brush to enable the sculpting of ramps, and therefore winding paths and forms with harder edges. It is currently nearly impossible to sculpt a ramp in Unity3D, so making a road or path is very difficult, and you have very limited control over the forms of mountains and such.