Search Unity

Suggestions for my short horror project

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TrailerBlazerGames, Mar 17, 2014.

1. TrailerBlazerGames

TrailerBlazerGames

Hey guys.
    I am a beginner in Unity3d and my first game is a horror. I don't need help with the story line, as I have that sorted out. I do need suggestions for the scare factor. While it is very psychological based there is going to be a monster or two. Do you guys enjoy jump scares or atmospherics chills? Chase scenes or puzzle solving? Should the atmosphere mainly focus on the mind trip aspect or be based on the horror and monsters? It would be much appreciated if you guys gave suggestions.
    Thanks!
    -Sam:D

2. Meltdown

Meltdown

Fear of the unknown and small weird looking children freak me out!

3. orbobservation

orbobservation

Build up multiple moments where you think there's going to be something attacking but there's nothing, have random audio clips playing around a random moving track around the game world (knocks, rustling leaves, whimpers, footsteps), the true horror is what you cannot see and I feel that's where most horror projects go wrong these days.

4. Kinos141

Kinos141

ATMOSPHERE!!! Jump scares are lame. Make the monster be visible to the player. I think it's scarier to have a monster that you can see, but not do anything about. However, don't make it impossible to survive if you are seen. I had an idea expanded off of Outlast, where the player can dodge and run away from the threat, but the threat gets smarter can cuts off they player next time, a la Mr. Freeze, Arkham City.

5. orbobservation

orbobservation