Search Unity

Suggestions for beginning with Unity

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by VekUnderScore, Jan 23, 2020.

1. VekUnderScore

VekUnderScore

About Me
    Hi everyone I'm new to unity and looking to get advise on getting started. My goals in learning Unity, is to develop 3D, first or third, person story oriented games, and use new game play mechanics as a way to help me understand the real world around me. At some point in the future, making a multiplayer game would be interesting, but I digress, here are topics/questions I was hoping to get feedback on. I should also mention I do have some small experience programming in c++, python, and java but not in c# yet.
    My questions:
    • What are some good challenges/projects for someone with no experience in unity?
    • I grew up troubleshooting windows and its various problems and almost as a result watching full youtube or udemy series is boring/stale and kills my creativity, because I want my stuff to look like theirs and I don't experiment. So are there any good websites or small videos that focus on how to achieve a specific topic?
    • To expand on my last question, any sources
    • What are some easy pitfalls for newcomers or just any fallacies you think I'm embracing?
    Thanks in advance for taking the time read and/or respond!:D

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored