Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback Suggestion to improve Unity UX when reloading scripts, assets,...

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by ssyuha, Apr 17, 2022.

1. ssyuha

ssyuha

Hello everyone,

I'm a mobile dev just get into Unity for some hobby game dev recently. After several months of trying different versions from 2018 to 2022, I found that Unity has a big change when transitioning from 2018, 2019 to 2020, especially in terms of UI/UX.

New Unity looks prettier but have some drawbacks compared to previous versions. One of that is the annoying POPUP when reloading assets after changing scripts or do some heavy operation which blocking the editor main thread. In version 2019 or earlier, Unity will freeze for some seconds without any indication of whether the operation was done or not. From Unity 2020, the editor will show the POPUP and user can do nothing except watching at it and doing somethings "offline". Despite the fact that the editor will freeze without any progress bar in 2019, i still found it more pleasant to work with than newer version where the popup keep showing out of nowhere randomly, which cause an impression of Unity being slow and buggy. (The fact is Unity 2019 still hang frequently but i did not notice it and don't have the negative impression like with Unity 2020). And i think one major source of complains from community is because of this POPUP.

The new progress indicator is a welcome change, and nothing wrong with it if we can make it right. The only thing wrong with it right now, the thing that make me and many people feels frustration is the POPUP which pop out randomly which blocked our workflow.