Search Unity

  1. We are looking for feedback on the experimental Unity Safe Mode which is aiming to help you resolve compilation errors faster during project startup.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Suggestion: The command line and Unity Hub

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by ikriz, Mar 16, 2018.

  1. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    424
    @Thaina Thanks for the example, but what I meant was that this is more dangerous than say opening a dialog in the Hub. You're suggesting we allow links to trigger actions on the user's Editor. Even if we use a whitelist there's more potential for abuse. That doesn't mean it's impossible but we simply need to put more thought into it beforehand :)
     
  2. drpaneas

    drpaneas

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    +1 for obvious reasons.
     
    MaximilianPs likes this.
  3. Thaina

    Thaina

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Posts:
    400
    @AbrahamDUnity I know but I don't think we should concern that much. Given that even today we can write any menu to abuse in the same way. We even have
    RuntimeInitializeOnLoadMethod
    for abusing anything

    In fact I could just write
    HttpListener
    in
    RuntimeInitializeOnLoadMethod
    to do what I try to propose by myself anyway (already did so, to get the google access token). So in fact. If unity would just support this feature, you could restrict the abuse better than I am doing by myself. Or else people might making what I have did into a package and make it spread without security concern in their mind
     
    AbrahamDUnity likes this.
  4. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    424
    Thanks again. We'll consider it.
     
  5. SLGSimon

    SLGSimon

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Posts:
    56
  6. Dizzy-Dalvin

    Dizzy-Dalvin

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Posts:
    51
    Have anyone managed to make it work? I've tried running it with
    -- --headless help
    without any luck. It just returns with exit code 1 every time. There is no log file and stderr is empty. The only thing in the standard output is
    xdg-icon-resource is missing. Skipping /tmp/.mount_UnityHMaVnrR/AppRun.
    but I guess it's just some warning.

    How do I debug it? I need to install WindowsStandaloneModule on a headless Linux environment and Unity Hub seems to be the only way to do it for the version I need (2018.3.14f1). At least, I couldn't find a way to install this module manually from pkg file.
     
  7. chatrat12

    chatrat12

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Posts:
    103
    Looking for a way to open the editor to a specific project with CLI. Is there a way to do this?
     
  8. skullthug

    skullthug

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Posts:
    153
    Hi @AbrahamDUnity
    Thanks for your responses. Has there been any progress on this? Namely some sort of option of being able to run in -force-glcore mode with Unity Hub.

    EDIT: Nevermind! I checked the newest UnityHub and saw there's commandline options available, and it works with -force-glcore. Great! Thank you!
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2019
    AbrahamDUnity likes this.
  9. ikriz

    ikriz

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Posts:
    92
  10. danta2nd

    danta2nd

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    I would suggest taking a look, and possibly inspiration from, the following github plugin, which I honestly prefer in favor of the Unity Hub, until we get proper CLI support: https://github.com/DragonBox/u3d
     
  11. Royjrm27

    Royjrm27

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2020
    Posts:
    1
  12. guneyozsan

    guneyozsan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Posts:
    70
  13. Alex_StudioDrydock

    Alex_StudioDrydock

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Posts:
    8
unityunity