Search Unity

Question SubScene Questions

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by florianhanke, Oct 27, 2020.

1. florianhanke

florianhanke

1. I assumed SubScenes (because they are saved) were meant for reuse over several scenes in addition to performing a GO -> entity conversion ahead of time. But I think I am wrong (re the former) and they are only used in one (their) scene – can anyone confirm/deny? If they cannot be reused, why not?

Explanation: For networking, I have a Ghost Collection SubScene, which I intended to simply reuse in each scene:
    Screenshot 2020-10-27 at 22.13.51.png
    But it looks like using a GhostCollection prefab is still the way to go, and pull that into each scene's subscene. Like that, the Ghost Collection needs to be converted separately for each of these subscenes instead. It would be great if I could just pull in the subscene with other needed components into each scene.

2. Using the above Ghost Collection SubScene – when I call Instantiate on a Prefab from the Ghost Collection list inside the Ghost Collection SubScene, new Prefab instances "live" in the Ghost Collection SubScene (looking at the Entities editor). I'd much prefer these instances to live top-level or in another subscene (e.g. "Scenario A"). How can I instantiate them to live there?

3. Are there in-depth Unity docs on SubScenes? I found the conversion pieces here: https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/com.unity.entities@0.14/manual/gp_overview.html If there are, can anyone point me to them. It would be great to have some design decision infos as well so I know how to use them "properly", if something like that has already cristallized :)

Samsle, Piefayth, jdtec and 1 other person like this.
  2. florianhanke

florianhanke

Does anybody have any ideas?

bb8_1 likes this.
  3. Enzi

Enzi