Search Unity

Stuttering - Performance issues

Discussion in 'Physics' started by Logstor, Sep 21, 2017.

1. Logstor

Logstor

Hello

I've almost finished my test project, but I got this performance problem which bugs the hell out of me and makes the game almost unplayable. I've used the Profiler to try identify the problem, and got this result:

I'm fairly new to Unity, so I'm far from knowing all about it yet, hence I write here :)

As you can see I drop below 30 fps, and below the graphs it's telling me that it's the Update.ScriptRunBehaviourUpdate that probably causes this.

My Setup(If necessary):

GPU = Nvidia 980 Ti

CPU = I7 4280K - 3.7GHz

RAM = 16GB

My computer should be strong enough to handle this without problems in my head, but apparently it isn't, so I'm lost. I hope someone will help me understand this problem, and learn me how to solve it.

Furthermore, if it would help solve the issue and understand it, I have a link here for the whole project(.zip file - 160MB ):

https://www.dropbox.com/s/plxhvxj81men7mv/Roller Madness.zip?dl=0

2. MD_Reptile

MD_Reptile

Looks like too many Instantiate () calls I think. Maybe try pooling whatever is being spawned so much?

Logstor likes this.
  3. Logstor

Logstor

Thanks for the answer! :)

Oh wow, I see that now. The script SpawnGameObjects seems to be the problem?
    I actually don't know what's getting spawned at that exact moment, and I don't know yet what pooling spawns is?

4. Xype

Xype

It looks like the baking of physics collision data is what is really causing it. A few things can cause this (rather than look at that code ill just give some pointers).

1. Unity has issues with scaling things up larger, spawn something with a larger scale it doesn't enjoy it. Try to get your models imported at proper size if possible.
    2. Mesh colliders eat resources when moving, which is why you see most people using capsule colliders.