Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Struggling with creativity

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by loureirorg, Nov 13, 2020.

1. loureirorg

loureirorg

Hey guys,

I'm a senior programmer starting to develop games as a hobby. I have no problems with coding, but with ideas and creativity, I'm just a void. I'm 0% creativity, 100% coding.

I'm pretty sure people often have the inverse problem. They have many ideas and have to learn Unity and programming in order to execute their ideas. My situation is the opposite.

Anyone else ever had the same issue? Struggling with creativity? Any ideas on how to get inspired? How to develop the creative side? How to overcome the lack of ideas?

Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  2. MDADigital

MDADigital

What games you like? Look to those, maybe there is something missing in that genre?

3. Havyx

Havyx

This might be useful to you. This is a video by Sebastian Lague who made a decent idea-generator.

Video

Idea Generator
    https://seblague.github.io/ideagenerator/

Here are a few examples:

- A mashup of the basketball and hockey game genres with a grappling-hook mechanic.

- A blend of the platformer and survival game genres in which you need to collect memories.

- An unusual little educational game about technology and life after death.

- A stealth game about exploration, where you play as a faction of kings in an ancient hotel.

- A mix between the clicker and helicopter racing game genres designed with speedrunning in mind.

You could also try the subreddit gameideas

https://www.reddit.com/r/gameideas/

But there are a lot of "GTA with aliens" and "Skyrim but in the year 8000".

or youtube "devlog" and see what other people are creating - this might give you some inspiration.

loureirorg likes this.
  4. EternalAmbiguity

EternalAmbiguity

Welcome to the club!