Search Unity

Struggling to understand how saving projects works.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Durghan, Oct 9, 2019.

1. Durghan

Durghan

So, I'm very new to Unity but have a lot of computer experience yet I'm really struggling to understand how Unity Projects are saved.

Specifically, I'm trying to learn through tutorials and small projects I think up. I'd like to work on these projects and tutorials both at home and at work during my lunch and breaks. But for the life of me, I can't figure out how to get a project I start at home to open in Unity at work, and vice versa. When I got to add a project I've saved to my Google Drive I get an invalid project path error message.

So what am I doing wrong? What info am I missing to make this work?

Thank you.

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

Try using repository solutions. For example github. This way you can export/import changes, rather than full project.

Btw, where you store your project on the drive?

3. Durghan

Durghan

I'll take a look at GitHub, but it sounds like several extra, potentially time consuming, steps every time I want to load the project.

I'm just saving in a Projects folder on my Google drive.

4. JeffDUnity3D

JeffDUnity3D

Copy the projects to your local drive from your Google drive, and provide a screenshot of the directory structure here.

5. Durghan

Durghan

Not sure what difference it makes whether it's on Google drive or local, but here ya go...I notice the case sensitive test file and have a recollection of getting an error at some point that UNity doesn't support case sensitive operating systems or something...So, is it simply that I can't use Google drive at all? That's kinda sucky. Hehe

Attached Files:

6. JeffDUnity3D

JeffDUnity3D

Differences could be R/W permissions, etc so best to rule it out. At any rate, you would open the CharacterSheet folder on your desktop in Unity (or via the Unity Hub). Please provide a screenshot of the error that you are receiving.