Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Struggling to learn

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Nalonso, Sep 21, 2017.

1. Nalonso

Nalonso

I'm quite new here, as I've never developed a single thing in my life. I've never done any coding ever before, however I thought I would try to learn the basics of Unity as a hobby. I'm motivated to learn how to make creative/fun games, however, I became frustrated when I realized that I may be in over my head. I watched Brackey's "how to make a game" videos on youtube where he demonstrated how to make the cube runner game, I completed that project. Then I decided that I would watch and complete the Unity official tutorials that come with the actual software. The "roll-a-ball" game was simple enough, and I completed that. Now, I'm currently on the "Space Shooter" tutorial. I'm about 12 videos into the tutorial, and I've come to realize that the tutorials are really pushing me to use the "Unity scripting API" to learn. I think this may be one of my main issues with learning, I can't understand anything in that directory. I know it's supposed to be as simple as possible for everyone to learn, but it seems like the descriptions of even the simplest of things are written in a completely different language. For example, in one of the recent videos I watched, we had to make an asteroid prefab rotate randomly to emulate how an asteroid would behave in space. We are told to use:

rb.angularVelocity = Random.onUnitSphere;

When I check the API for what the hell "onUnitSphere" does, it says:

Returns a random point on the surface of a sphere with radius 1 (Read Only).