Search Unity

Video Streaming video loses audio after playing for around 12 seconds

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by smarsh25, Aug 5, 2019.

1. smarsh25

smarsh25

When using VideoPlayer to stream a video from an URL, the video begins to play successfully, but after about 12 seconds the audio cuts out. The video plays on loop, and the audio plays successfully on any loop after the first play is completed. This tends to happen only with videos of certain lengths, and when viewing from our app on iOS or Android over a cellular connection. We are currently using version 2019.1.12f1

I am following the suggested manner in the Unity docs, setting the VideoPlayer.url to the video url, calling VideoPlayer.Prepare(), and calling VideoPlayer.play() on the prepareCompleted event.

I am new to Unity. Could anyone suggest troubleshooting steps, or a technique to ensure the audio is buffered and ready to play?

Any help / direction is much appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited: Aug 5, 2019
  2. DominiqueLrx

DominiqueLrx

Unity Technologies

Hi!

This sounds like a bug and not a misuse. The VideoPlayer supports two audio output modes that follow distinct software paths, so it may be worth trying both in case they differ in behaviour and help explaining the issue. These modes are VideoAudioOutputMode.AudioSource and VideoAudioOutputMode.Direct. See https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Video.VideoPlayer-audioOutputMode.html

But fundamentally what you describe should not happen. I suppose on a slow connection, it is expected there will be dropouts, or even complete playback halt. Both platforms you describe are not great at surviving bad network conditions. But having the video keep going and audio stop doesn't make much sense and is probably fixable. Note that there are no buffering controls for the time being, the various implementations are supposed to take a best-effort apparoach but clearly something is missing here.