Search Unity

Stopping the player from being able to jump infinitely.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Deleted User, Apr 21, 2019.

1. Deleted User

Deleted User

This may be a silly question but I'm completely new to Unity and programming in C# and this is only my 4th day doing so. I've got the player movement script down and a few playable levels but I would like to be able to give the player the ability to jump. So I did that and tested it, but at the moment the player can jump infinitely rendering the levels pointless. how would I be able to simply limit the input or the hight the player can reach?
    I've included the code so let me know if there's anything else I can improve on or if there are more efficient ways of doing anything.

Code (CSharp):
    2. using UnityEngine;
    4. public Rigidbody rb;
    6. public class PlayerMovement : MonoBehaviour
    7. {
    8.     public float forwardForce    = 2000f;
    9.     public float sidewaysForce  = 500f;
    10.     public float jumpForce        = 100;
    11.    .
    12.     void FixedUpdate()
    13.     {
    14.         rb.AddForce(0, 0, forwardForce * Time.deltaTime);                                                                        
    16.         if ( Input.GetKey("d"))
    17.         {
    18.             rb.AddForce(sidewaysForce * Time.deltaTime, 0, 0, ForceMode.VelocityChange);                                  
    19.         }                                                                                                                  
    23.         if (Input.GetKey("a"))
    24.         {
    25.             rb.AddForce(-sidewaysForce * Time.deltaTime, 0, 0, ForceMode.VelocityChange);                              
    26.         }                                                                                                                
    29.         if (Input.GetKey("space"))
    30.         {
    31.             rb.AddForce(jumpForce * Time.deltaTime, jumpForce, 0, 0);