Search Unity

Question Steam Deck at 1280x720?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Achuchin, Feb 9, 2024.

  1. Achuchin

    Achuchin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    My game runs at 1280x720 instead of the native 1280x800.
    In Unity's Player, Resolution and Presentation is set to Fullscreen Window and Default is Native Resolution, and in steam I tried default, native and even specify 1280x800.
    Log goes something like this:

    - Loaded All Assemblies, in 0.123 seconds
    - Finished resetting the current domain, in 0.003 seconds
    ERROR: Shader Hidden/Universal Render Pipeline/DBufferClear shader is not supported on this GPU (none of subshaders/fallbacks are suitable)
    Default vsync count 0
    requesting resize 1280 x 720
    requesting fullscreen 1280 x 720 at 0/1 Hz
    Setting up downscaled viewport at 1280 x 720
    Desktop is 1280 x 800 @ 60 Hz
    Disable old input system
    UnloadTime: 1.152321 ms
    1280x720 << Debug.Log($"{UnityEngine.Screen.width}x{UnityEngine.Screen.height}");


    Unity is 2022.3.19f1.
    Any idea where does is "size request" is coming from?
     
  2. halley

    halley

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Posts:
    2,420
    Are you running in Desktop Mode or Steam Gaming Mode? Do you have anything video-related like a dock or monitor attached by USB-C? When you view your game, does it have content all the way to the top and bottom of the displayable hardware?
     
  3. Achuchin

    Achuchin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Heyhey,

    - Steam Gaming Mode
    - Nothing attached
    - If I understand your question properly yes, it is resized not cut, which means all widgets seems to adapt to the new res with the rules I set up on widgets

    Weird and annoying to track, I don't know where it is coming from
     
  4. karliss_coldwild

    karliss_coldwild

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2020
    Posts:
    599
    Have you checked "Supported Aspect Ratios" under Project Settings/Player/Resolution and Presentation?
     
  5. Achuchin

    Achuchin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Hihi,

    I don't have such an entry, but my player is set to "Default is Native Resolution" so I'm guessing i's not relevant.

    Cheers,
     
  6. karliss_coldwild

    karliss_coldwild

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2020
    Posts:
    599
    upload_2024-2-10_12-17-16.png

    It should be right there just slightly lower. The checkbox portion might be collapsed by default.
     
  7. Achuchin

    Achuchin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    karliss_coldwild likes this.
  8. tylerinthezoo

    tylerinthezoo

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2022
    Posts:
    91
    this is interesting.. i tried a plain 2d template build on my steamdeck with exactly the same setting, seems to be working as expected. i am also using 2022.3.13f1 LTS. i tried both desktop mode and gaming mode.

    if this is a multi-display setup, then there maybe some issue with the multidisplay stuff. the size request should be coming from the size you requested when building.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2024
  9. karliss_coldwild

    karliss_coldwild

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2020
    Posts:
    599
    Just remembered one more thing. Steamdeck allows overriding resolution if you open Game properties/General (same place as where you can specify launch options). Maybe at some point you have changed it or steamdeck set it automatically for some weird reasons.
     
  10. Achuchin

    Achuchin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Mine is a 3d game, I haven't had more time to dig into it but if it becomes a problem in the future I'll create a repro project package and submit a bug report

    I haven't touched anything the afaik
     
    tylerinthezoo likes this.